New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jamie Green victorious in Sunday Nürburgring race as René Rast claims second title

Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s Jamie Green took a sensational Sunday race victory at the Nürburgring, holding off a late charge from Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline’s Robin Frijns as teammate René Rast claimed the 2019 DTM title.

Green took his first victory since the penultimate race in 2017, whilst Rast’s podium was enough to put the title out of reach of Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline’s Nico Müller who finished sixth.

As the lights went out it was Rast who got the best start, leading Green into turn one and followed closely by Audi Sport Team Phoenix’s Mike Rockenfeller. Further back Müller was boxed in by three Aston Martins and was unable to gain positions through the opening sequence.

- Advertisement -

For the entirety of the first stint Rast and Green were locked together, with the gap not extending about 0.8 seconds for 13 laps.

Rast was the first to blink and made his mandatory stop at the end of lap 13, hoping to extend the gap to Green who visited pitlane a lap later.

When the British driver returned to the track he was just ahead of his championship leading teammate, and was able to keep him at bay whilst warming his tyres.

Green then set about gapping Rast, and by lap 30 had a two second lead and looked set to hold on.

Rast was in a position to take the championship, as Müller was fifth on the road, however Frijns looked to spoil the early title celebrations.

The Dutchman had pitted four laps later than Rast, and in the second half of the race closed down a near 6 second lead to pass the 2017 DTM champion for second place on lap 34.

Green was next in Frijn’s crosshairs, and after closing the gap to 0.4 seconds made an attempted pass at the T9/10 chicane.

Running through the grass, Frijns gave back the position and Green would hold on to the line to win by four tenths.

Behind the championship was still in the balance, and the fight looked set to go down to the wire in Hockenheim until Audi Sport Team WRT’s Jonathan Aberdein decided the fate of the title, passing Müller at the chicane on lap 40.

Rast took the final step on the podium, and in doing so claimed his second DTM title.

Audi Sport Team Phoenix’s Loïc Duval crossed the line in fourth, five seconds off the podium.

Aberdein held on to fifth, Müller unable to retake the position took the checkered flag in sixth. Despite the Swiss drivers monumental efforts to climb from 14th on the grid, it wasn’t enough to stay in with an outside chance of the title.

Rockenfeller finished in seventh, after making a late stop on lap 21 was unable to move through the field on younger tyres.

BWM Team RMR’s Philipp Eng finished in eighth and the highest BMW, ahead of teammate Timo Glock who despite being pushed into a spin  by BMW Team RBM’s Sheldon Van der Linde on the second lap, fought back to score points.

BMW Team RMG’s Bruno Spengler rounded out the top ten after an uneventful race for the Canadian.

Daniel Juncadella was the highest placed R-Motorsport’s driver in 12th, whilst former championship contender BMW Team RMG’s Marco Wittmann retired in the final five minutes after the car cut out twice.

Race result

1 53 Jamie GREEN Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 41 57:41.767 1:22.298 1
2 4 Robin FRIJNS Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 41 0.442 1:22.493 4
3 33 René RAST Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 41 5.827 1:22.253 2
4 28 Loïc DUVAL Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 41 10.813 1:22.484 6
5 27 Jonathan ABERDEIN Audi Sport Team WRT Audi RS5 DTM 41 11.121 1:22.484 5
6 51 Nico MÜLLER Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 41 12.410 1:22.363 14
7 99 Mike ROCKENFELLER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 41 12.753 1:22.454 3
8 25 Philipp ENG BMW Team RMR BMW M4 DTM 41 19.886 1:22.816 11
9 16 Timo GLOCK BMW Team RMR BMW M4 DTM 41 27.159 1:22.632 7
10 7 Bruno SPENGLER BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 41 27.675 1:23.084 9
11 47 Joel ERIKSSON BMW Team RBM BMW M4 DTM 41 29.974 1:23.176 13
12 23 Daniel JUNCADELLA R-Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage DTM 41 30.660 1:22.988 16
13 21 Pietro FITTIPALDI Audi Sport Team WRT Audi RS5 DTM 41 31.625 1:22.758 12
14 76 Jake DENNIS R-Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage DTM 41 32.000 1:23.367 17
15 62 Ferdinand VON HABSBURG R-Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage DTM 41 32.449 1:23.114 15
16 31 Sheldon VAN DER LINDE BMW Team RBM BMW M4 DTM 41 51.534 1:23.085 10
R 11 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 29 DNF 1:22.386 8
NS 3 Paul DI RESTA R-Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage DTM DNS N/A
DTM points deficit after Round 16
Graphic: TouringCars.Net
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -