New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Rob Huff scores first-ever win for LADA in Beijing

Rob Huff took LADA’s first-ever World Touring Car Championship (WTCC) victory in race two in Beijing, scoring a lights-to-flag win ahead of ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel and Citroën’s Sébastien Loeb.

Huff, who started the race from pole position, led the entire race and was never challenged by Coronel, with the Brit opening up a lead of over four seconds just after the halfway stage of the race.

The win is the 26th of Huff’s career, and crucially the first-ever win for LADA in the championship.

- Advertisement -

Coronel and Loeb completed the podium, having been in the top three positions since the first corner of the race.

Championship leader José María López extended his points advantage by finishing in fourth, having made up more positions than anyone else inside the top ten. López, who started seventh, was in sixth by the end of lap one and then got past James Thompson for fifth on lap 11.

Zengő Motorsport’s Norbert Michelisz was fifth, finishing one place better than race one, having lost out to the charging López on lap 16.

LADA’s Thompson completed a strong day for the Russian marque by taking his best result of the season in sixth. The Brit had started third, but lost out to Loeb and Michelisz at the start and he was then hunted down and passed by López later in the race.

Münnich Motorsport’s Gianni Morbidelli followed up his fourth in race one with seventh in race two, unable to make any progress in his Chevrolet and losing out to López at the start of the race.

Completing the top ten were race one winner Tom Chilton, Citroën’s Yvan Muller and Honda’s Gabriele Tarquini. Muller therefore loses more ground to López in the title fight after being unable to repass Chilton after the ROAL Motorsport driver got by early in the race.

Honda’s Tiago Monteiro had another poor race on the back of a disastrous qualifying and race one, finishing down in 13th position. Monteiro had spent much of the race battling with Citroën’s Ma Qing Hua, who finished in 12th and thus scored no points at home in China.

Franz Engstler was again victorious in TC2 for the 15th time this season despite a spin in the race, finishing ahead of John Filippi.

The only disappointment for LADA came at the start, with Mikhail Kozlovskiy failing to get to the grid after a fire in his car.

After their crashes in race one, neither Dušan Borković nor René Münnich took the start of race two.

Top ten result

1 12 TC1 Rob HUFF LADA Sport LADA Granta 1.6T 26 28:52.502 1:06.271 1
2 4 TC1 Tom CORONEL ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 26 0.766 1:06.140 2
3 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 26 3.072 1:06.200 4
4 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 26 3.102 1:05.934 7
5 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 26 8.673 1:06.265 5
6 11 TC1 James THOMPSON LADA Sport LADA Granta 1.6T 26 9.938 1:06.439 3
7 10 TC1 Gianni MORBIDELLI ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 26 11.111 1:06.302 6
8 3 TC1 Tom CHILTON ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 26 11.553 1:06.073 10
9 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 26 12.463 1:06.414 8
10 2 TC1 Gabriele TARQUINI Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 26 12.805 1:06.352 9

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here