New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

José María López tops third straight session

José María López continued to set the pace in second practice for the World Touring Car Championship at the Slovakiaring, beating Hugo Valente to the top time by 0.249 seconds.

The Citroën driver hit the top of the timesheets after 23 minutes, displacing team-mate Sébastien Loeb who had briefly gone fastest beforehand. The duo were then seperated by Campos Racing’s Valente, who ended the session as the top Chevrolet driver in second.

Yvan Muller was fourth fastest, 0.752 seconds off López, who posted the fastest time whilst using fresh rubber.

- Advertisement -

The top Honda was Zengő Motorsport’s Norbert Michelisz in fifth, ahead of Tom Chilton’s ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet in sixth, who was just over a second off the pace.

Tom Coronel was less than a tenth shy of his team-mate in seventh, ahead of the improving Dušan Borković in eighth.

Completing the top ten were Münnich Motorsport’s René Münnich  and Proteam Racing’s Mehdi Bennani. Münnich’s time in particular was set whilst the German had new rubber on his Chevrolet, putting him briefly fastest at the half-way stage in the session.

A number of drivers had moments in the session, including Coronel who skated through the gravel just before the halkway stage. Rob Huff again looked to be having technical problems with his car, but managed to post a time near the end of the session to go 14th.

Franz Engstler was again fastest in the TC2 category in 17th, ahead of Petr Fulín in 18th. The Czech driver has a particularly busy weekend as he is competing in the ETCC in a rear-wheel drive BMW alongside his entry in the WTCC in a SEAT León.

Qualifying takes place at 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST).

Top ten times

1 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 10 2:05.469 0.000
2 7 TC1 Hugo VALENTE Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 8 2:05.718 0.249
3 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 11 2:06.048 0.579
4 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 10 2:06.221 0.752
5 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 10 2:06.379 0.910
6 3 TC1 Tom CHILTON ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 10 2:06.487 1.018
7 4 TC1 Tom CORONEL ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 11 2:06.545 1.076
8 98 TC1 Dušan BORKOVIĆ NIS Petrol by Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 10 2:06.589 1.120
9 77 TC1 René MÜNNICH ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 8 2:06.649 1.180
10 25 TC1 Mehdi BENNANI Proteam Racing Honda Civic WTCC 9 2:06.666 1.197

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here