TouringCars.Net - the internet's most comprehensive tin-top site.

Autodromo Nazionale di Monza

Autodromo Nazionale di Monza map


Nestled in one of the largest walled parks in Europe, the Autodromo Nazionale Monza is one of the truly legendary circuits in motorsport. With a long history dating back to 1922, the circuit is the third oldest in the world, with only Brooklands and Indianapolis Motor Speedway being older.

The track has gone through several different incarnations over the years before largely settling upon its current form in 1955. It took more than 3,500 workers to build the original circuit between May and July 1922, with the project being financed by the Milan Automobile Club.

During the early years of the circuit races took place on a combined lap of the high-speed banked oval and the road course, making a total lap length of around 10 km. The original oval remained in use, in some form or other, until the outbreak of World War II, after which the circuit degraded due to neglect.

In 1954 work began to renew the circuit and a new oval was built, albeit slightly shorter than the previous one. The full circuit, featuring both the oval and the road course, was used in the Italian Grand Prix in 1955, 1956, 1960 and 1961, before its use came to a sudden end following the death of Wolfgang von Trips and fifteen spectators on the combined circuit.

The oval circuit held its last race in 1969 although it remains in place today, in a degraded state, as a reminder of the legendary former circuit.

The road circuit became the main attraction at Monza during the 1960s, and over the past five decades it has been progressively tweaked in an effort to make the racing safer. The most recent change came in 1999 when the first corner was modified in time for the 2000 Grand Prix.

Renowned for its high-speed straights, slipstreaming is of vital importance at Monza. The circuit consists of a series of high-speed straights and turns, punctuated only by chicanes which are designed to reduce the overall speed around the 5.793 kilometre circuit.

The World Touring Car Championship has had an on-off affair with Monza, although the circuit has featured on the calendar nine times up to and including 2017 (including the inaugural season in 1987). No other circuit has featured as many times as part of the WTCC.

The 2017 season will mark the first appearance of the modern day TC1 spec cars on the high speed track. With more aerodynamics than the previous generation S2000 cars, slipstreaming will be of even more significance than ever before, particularly in the battle for pole position.

In terms of successes, Yvan Muller and Rob Huff share the most number of WTCC wins at Monza, with four victories apiece. Of the current crop of drivers, it is only Huff and Norbert Michelisz who have stood on the top step of the podium at the circuit in the WTCC.

Race winners record

  Note: Data valid for period between 11th Jun 2000 and 20th Oct 2019

Series Year Layout Driver Entrant Car Time
TCR IT2019FullMatteo GRECOScuderia del Girasole - CUPRA RacingCUPRA TCR29:23.313
TCR IT2019FullMarco PELLEGRINITarget CompetitionHyundai i30 N TCR29:24.408
TCR EU2019FullJosh FILESTarget CompetitionHyundai i30 N TCR25:38.083
TCR EU2019FullJulien BRICHÉJSB CompétitionPeugeot 308 TCR25:42.193
TCR IT2019FullEnrico BETTERAPit Lane CompetizioniAudi RS3 LMS TCR28:51.195
TCR IT2019FullKlim GAVRILOVLTA RallyAudi RS3 LMS TCR28:32.054
TCR IT2018FullLuigi FERRARAV-Action Racing TeamAlfa Romeo Giulietta TCR27:42.613
TCR IT2018FullLuigi FERRARAV-Action Racing TeamAlfa Romeo Giulietta TCR28:45.733
TCR EU2018FullJean-Karl VERNAYLeopard Lukoil TeamAudi RS3 LMS TCR25:19.170
TCR EU2018FullJean-Karl VERNAYLeopard Lukoil TeamAudi RS3 LMS TCR25:11.646
TCR IT2017FullNicola BALDANPit Lane CompetizioniSEAT León TCR28:36.291
TCR IT2017FullGiacomo ALTOÈTarget CompetitionAudi RS3 LMS TCR28:48.820
Show more