2020 FIA WTCR calendar revealed with new races in South Korea and...

2020 FIA WTCR calendar revealed with new races in South Korea and Spain

WTCR race start in Ningbo
Photo: Frederic Le Floch / DPPI

The 2020 FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar has been revealed following ratification by the FIA World Motor Sport Council, featuring new races at Inje Speedium in South Korea and Motorland Aragon in Spain.

Whilst the addition of Aragon had already been known after it was announced by the promoter earlier in the year, the addition of an event at the Inje Speedium was less widely known.

The Inje Speedium opened in 2013 and hosted a round of the inaugural TCR Korea series last year. The circuit, which is approximately 40 km from the border with North Korea, has hosted few major events since it was completed six years ago.

The season will once again begin at the Circuit Moulay el Hassan in Morocco, with the calendar commencing on the weekend of 4-5 April.

The Hungaroring hosts the second round of the season, in conjunction with the FIA European Truck Racing Championship in a partnership which was also revealed earlier in the year.

The Nürburgring Nordschleife will play host to the highest international level of touring cars for the sixth year in a row with the third round in late May, before the Slovakiaring returns to the calendar in early June, again in conjunction with FIA ETRC.

The Vila Real street race in Portugal hosts the fifth round in late June as in recent years, before the European leg of the season concludes with the first of two new races at Aragon in Spain in July.

The event at Ningbo takes place in early September, a week earlier than in 2019, before the series heads to new ground in South Korea, with the event in Hyundai’s home country effectively replacing a Japanese race on the calendar.

Macau will once again host the penultimate event in November, before the season once again concludes with a mid-December night race at Sepang in Malaysia.

Sepang has actually yet to host a WTCR round, as its inaugural event is still to take place in 2019, with the season finale of the current season held next weekend on the 13-15 December 2019.

As well as confirming the 2020 calendar, the FIA has also confirmed that the promoter agreement with Eurosport Events has been extended by a further three years.

2020 WTCR Calendar

Rounds 1, 2 and 3 – 5 April – Morocco – Marrakech

Rounds 4, 5 and 6 – Hungary – Hungaroring

Rounds 7, 8 and 9 – Germany – Nürburgring Nordschleife

Rounds 10, 11 and 12 – Slovakia – Slovakiaring

Rounds 13, 14 and 15 – Portugal – Vila Real

Rounds 16, 17 and 18 – Spain – Motorland Aragon

Rounds 19, 20 and 21 – China – Ningbo Speedpark

Rounds 22, 23 and 24 – South Korea – Inje Speedium

Rounds 25, 26 and 27 – Macau – Circuito da Guia

Rounds 28, 29 and 30 – Malaysia – Sepang