René Rast leads drivers’ standings after maiden win in Hungary

René Rast leads drivers’ standings after maiden win in Hungary

Photo: ITR e.V.

With the sunshine beating down on the Hungaroring for the sixth race of the 2017 Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters season, Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s René Rast secured his first career DTM victory around the 4.381-km circuit, ahead of Team Abt Sportsline’s Mattias Ekström and Team RBM’s Maxime Martin.

Rast calmly made his way past Ekström with just three laps to go into turn one, whilst Martin made an early strategy call to pit at the end of the first lap to secure his first podium of the season.

As a result, Rast now takes the championship lead with 70 points, ahead of Lucas Auer by just one point, with the Austrian having scored no points throughout the weekend.

Auer parked his C63 AMG Coupé in the garage on lap 24, ending a difficult race weekend, with his mandatory pitstop under investigation by the stewards by going into his pit box too hot, almost running into his pit crew..

Nico Müller and Jamie Green rounded out the top five that saw four Audis in the top five, with 2013 champion Mike Rockenfeller taking the final points-scoring place in 10th, having started from pit lane as a result of a brake fluid leak from his RS5 DTM.

Green made one of the best moves of the race whilst battling Marco Wittmann in the latter stages for position for fifth on lap 28, passing the defending champion around the outside into turn two, after a hard and fair battle between the duo.

Wittmann was the other main casualty aside from Auer, pulling over in his M4 DTM on the last lap of the race, as a plastic bag had lodged itself on the radiator grille. Wittmann had a strong showing all race, running in the top five despite having a slow getaway at the start.

It was another great showing from Paul Di Resta, with the Scot making his way up from 12th on the grid to finish in sixth, 0.810 seconds ahead of the only other BMW of Timo Glock to make it into the top ten.

Stuttgart saw another two of its cars finish in the top ten, with Robert Wickens and Gary Paffett finishing eighth and ninth, ahead of Rockenfeller. Paffett fought his way back past the 2013 champion on the inside of turn two, having complained that Rockenfeller had barged him wide coming out of turn one.

Edoardo Mortara was able to make up three places during the race to finish 11th, ahead of the BMW trio of Augusto Farfus, Tom Blomqvist and Bruno Spengler.

No further action was taken in the incident between Blomqvist and Audi Sport’s Loïc Duval on lap 33, where the Frenchman spun out after contact between the pair into turn two, as he appeared to turn into Blomqvist, who had the racing line.

Duval would be the last of the classified finishers behind Mercedes’ Maro Engel, who again showed good consistent lap times until he was the last to pit on lap 18, but would also have to serve a five-second pit stop penalty for bad grid positioning at the start.

The banks of the Dutzendteich will again host the DTM, as the Norising will be the backdrop for the fourth round of the season in just a fortnight’s time (June 30th – July 2nd), with the top six drivers separated by just 16 points in the standings.

Audi Sport Team Rosberg leads the team championship battle on 135 points, ahead of Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes me and Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, who are split by just a single point after six races.

Audi now extends its lead over Mercedes in the manufacturers’ standings to 50 points, as Dieter Gass’ squad now leave Hungary on 284 points. BMW Motorsport still has some work to do, 110 points behind Mercedes.

Race result

133René RASTAudi Sport Team RosbergAudi RS5 DTM3658:01.5921:37.4301
25Mattias EKSTRÖMAudi Sport Team Abt SportslineAudi RS5 DTM361.0411:36.7253
336Maxime MARTINBMW Team RBMBMW M4 DTM361.5061:37.13518
451Nico MÜLLERAudi Sport Team Abt SportslineAudi RS5 DTM361.8611:37.6034
553Jamie GREENAudi Sport Team RosbergAudi RS5 DTM365.7721:37.4576
63Paul DI RESTAMercedes-AMG Motorsport SILBERPFEIL EnergyMercedes-AMG C63 DTM367.8841:37.56912
716Timo GLOCKBMW Team RMRBMW M4 DTM368.6941:37.5418
86Robert WICKENSMercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes meMercedes-AMG C63 DTM3611.9991:37.55913
92Gary PAFFETTMercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes meMercedes-AMG C63 DTM3612.6531:37.71411
1099Mike ROCKENFELLERAudi Sport Team PhoenixAudi RS5 DTM3613.1591:36.9435
1148Edoardo MORTARAMercedes-AMG Motorsport BWTMercedes-AMG C63 DTM3613.631:37.67114
1215Augusto FARFUSBMW Team RMGBMW M4 DTM3615.0871:37.5789
1331Tom BLOMQVISTBMW Team RMRBMW M4 DTM3616.2891:38.01110
147Bruno SPENGLERBMW Team RBMBMW M4 DTM3617.5831:37.15617
1563Maro ENGELMercedes-AMG Motorsport SILBERPFEIL EnergyMercedes-AMG C63 DTM3619.8281:37.49316
1677Loïc DUVALAudi Sport Team PhoenixAudi RS5 DTM3638.5351:37.67915
1711Marco WITTMANNBMW Team RMGBMW M4 DTM342 LAPS1:37.6682
R22Lucas AUERMercedes-AMG Motorsport BWTMercedes-AMG C63 DTM24DNF1:37.0497