New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Molina on top in Hungaroring practice

Photo by Audi AGAudi’s Miguel Molina was for the second consecutive meeting the fastest driver in free practice for the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters, lapping the Hungaroring 0.028 seconds faster than BMW’s Marco Wittmann.

The Spaniard topped the times with just four minutes remaining in the hour and a half session, posting the quickest time to deny Wittmann the chance to end the session on top. Molina had previously hit the top of the times after around 50 minutes, before several other drivers improved their times.

BMW Team MTEK driver Timo Glock was third fastest in a relatively uneventful session, ahead of Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s Nico Müller in fourth. Müller was the last driver in the 1 minute 37s, four tenths adrift of Molina.

- Advertisement -

BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus improved his times to go from around 16th at the half-way stage of the session to fifth by the end.

Reigining champion Mike Rockenfeller was sixth for Audi, ahead of 2012 champion Bruno Spengler’s BMW in seventh.

Completing the top ten were a trio of Audi drivers, with Team Rosberg’s Jamie Green in eighth ahead of Team Abt’s Edoardo Mortara and Adrien Tambay in ninth and tenth respectively.

Mercedes again struggled for pace in dry conditions, with Robert Wickens the maruqe’s top driver in 15th, more than a second off the pace. Six of the manufacturer’s seven cars occupied the bottom six positions.

Qualifying takes place this evening at 17:10 BST (18:10 CEST).

Top ten times

1 8 Miguel MOLINA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 33 1:37.558 0.000
2 23 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 30 1:37.586 0.028
3 17 Timo GLOCK BMW Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM 33 1:37.863 0.305
4 22 Nico MÜLLER Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 30 1:37.972 0.414
5 3 Augusto FARFUS BMW Team RBM BMW M4 DTM 24 1:38.029 0.471
6 1 Mike ROCKENFELLER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 37 1:38.050 0.492
7 9 Bruno SPENGLER BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M4 DTM 32 1:38.107 0.549
8 21 Jamie GREEN Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 30 1:38.145 0.587
9 15 Edoardo MORTARA Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS5 DTM 33 1:38.148 0.590
10 16 Adrien TAMBAY Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS5 DTM 32 1:38.159 0.601

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here