New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Carl Boardley secures victory in Scottish hills as others struggle with track limits

Victory in race one of the TCR UK championship at Knockhill was taken by Carl Boardley aboard his CUPRA León Competición TCR.

Crossing the line over ten seconds ahead of his nearest challenger, Rob Boston Racing’s Jac Constable, Boardley was never headed after starting from pole position.

A brief safety car scare was caused mid-distance as Bradley Hutchison and Darelle Wilson made heavy contact as they both fought for the same piece of tarmac at Duffus Dip. However, nothing came of it which allowed Broadley to cruise home.

- Advertisement -

“This weekend was about showing what pace we’ve got in qualifying, not a one-lap wonder but three or four [laps],” said Boardley. “That puts us in good stead for race three.

“Race two [on Sunday] will be tricky starting tenth but I rather have some fun and start tenth than disappear into the distance.”

His mirrors full with teammate Joe Marshall, Constable decided to settle for second place in his ballast-laden Audi.

“We are the only ones with weight in the top three,” explained the 25-year-old. “The extra weight just kills us a little bit more, pushing the tyres a bit more. There’s not a lot we can do but to hang on to it, we’ll take that.”

Marshall crossed the line in third but track limits penalties would drop him to seventh. As a result, Area Motorsport’s Jack Shepherd would be promoted to the last step on the podium after paying close attention to where he put his Hyundai i30 N TCR on the circuit.

“We knew track limits would be a big thing,” recalled Shepherd. “Off the start, I thought we would come on strong at the end but just focused on not getting track limits [penalties] at the start.

“The car was fantastic, it came alive through the middle. I caught up on the Audis and thought ‘Here we go’. I had a good run on Marshall four or five times but the BOP causes us to be a bit better in the corners, they’re a bit better in the straights. It was too much to get past.”

Fifth place and fastest lap would fall to Jenson Brickley ahead of sixth place man Alex Ley who also picked up a penalty for track limits.

Behind the penalised Marshall would be Callum Newsham who climbed up the field after starting 17th and last. The top ten would be completed by Chris Smiley and Matthew Wilson.

Both Lewis Kent and Jonathon Beeson did not finish due to mechanical trouble as well as Hutchinson and Wilson due to their contact damage respectfully.

Race results

1 41 Carl BOARDLEY CBM with Hart GT CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 29 25:27.783 52.053 1
2 11 Jac CONSTABLE Rob Boston Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 29 10.819 52.162 2
3 117 Adam SHEPHERD Area Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 29 12.567 52.104 5
4 37 Bruce WINFIELD Area Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 29 20.899 52.264 8
5 246 Jenson BRICKLEY Jenson Brickley Racing CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 29 23.273 51.855 6
6 76 Alex LEY Area Motorsport with Daniel James Hyundai i30 N TCR 29 24.225 52.353 4
7 99 Joe MARSHALL Rob Boston Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 29 26.178 52.168 3
8 16 Callum NEWSHAM JH Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 29 29.746 52.316 17
9 1 Chris SMILEY Restart Racing Honda Civic Type-R FL5 TCR 29 34.034 52.549 9
10 31 Matthew WILSON JWB Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 29 48.806 52.720 13
11 98 Oliver COTTAM Paul Sheard Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 29 51.122 52.560 16
12 27 Scott SUMPTON Restart Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 29 1:25.684 52.905 10
13 223 Garry TOWNSEND Townsend Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 29 1:31.604 53.076 15
R 4 Bradley KENT Essex & Kent Motorsport Hyundai Veloster N TCR 18 DNF 52.468 7
R 78 Jonathan BEESON Paul Sheard Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 DNF 53.108 12
R 17 Bradley HUTCHISON BOND IT with MPHR Audi RS3 LMS TCR 16 DNF 52.797 11
R 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR 16 DNF 52.667 14
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -