New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

ADAC TCR Germany ends as a standalone championship

The ADAC TCR Germany series will no longer be held as a standalone championship, instead being integrated into the Spezial Tourenwagen Trophy in 2023.

The ‘Special Touring Car Trophy’ has existed since 1986 and is largely a home for older race cars from various eras, classes and technical regulations.

It means the end of TCR Germany as its own series – after seven years. Once one of the strongest national championships, in recent seasons the series has struggled for grid numbers.

- Advertisement -

Most entrants from 2022 have already announced 2023 plans in other championships, leaving insignificant interest for a standalone series.

It means the previously-announced calendar will be scrapped and the series will instead utilise the STT calendar, with a season opener at the Hockenheimring next weekend (28 – 30 April).

The format will see participants contest two qualifying sessions of 40 minutes, followed by two 40-minute races, both of which will only feature a rolling start.

All races have a mandatory pit stop, allowing driver changes. The end of year prize fund stands at €20,000 divided between the top three entrants.

With DTM now being a GT racing series, it means the end of a standalone touring car championship for the German national racing scene.

“In the past few months we have been working intensively on the future of TCR Germany,” said ADAC Motorsport Director Thomas Voss.

“Unfortunately, the participants were not interested enough to continue the series in the familiar form.

“We have found an attractive solution with the TCR class as part of the Special Touring Car Trophy, in which interested participants can start with TCR vehicles as part of the ADAC Racing Weekend, and we would like to thank the STT and Rolf Krepschik for their support.”

The dates of the ADAC Racing Weekend (subject to change):

28 – 30 April: Hockenheimring
2 – 4 June: DEKRA Lausitzring
30 June – 2 July: Nürburgring
28 – 30 July: Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
1 – 3 September: Assen (NL)
13 – 15 October: Nürburgring

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -