New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jay Hanson claims lights-to-flag race two win

Melbourne Performance Centre’s Jay Hanson took a lights-to-flag victory in the reverse-grid second TCR Australia race at Sydney Motorsport Park, heading off Luke King for his third win of the season.

At the start Hanson, from pole position, came under heavy pressure for the lead from fellow front-row starter Brad Shiels and Tony D’Alberto, who had started from the second row of the grid.

Going through the first corner, Hanson and Shiels were side-by-side, before the Hyundai driver was forced wide which allowed D’Alberto’s Honda and the Hyundai of Luke King to get in the mix into Turn 3.

- Advertisement -

The trio bumped wheels, but Hanson emerged leading D’Alberto, after the latter had bumped wheels with King at Turn 7 which dropped King back to fourth after briefly going across the grass.

The battle for the lead soon settled down, leaving 18-year-old Hanson to secure his third win of the season by a margin of just under two seconds ahead of King, who had battled back past Shiels by the end of the opening lap and D’Alberto on the next tour around.

HMO Customer Racing’s Nathan Morcom completed the podium, the Hyundai driver having got past D’Alberto for the place on the second lap of the race.

Points leader D’Alberto preserved his championship advantage by claiming fourth, ahead of the GRM Peugeot of Jordan Cox in fifth, who had battled past team-mate Dylan O’Keeffe to claim the position on lap 11.

Shiels took the chequered flag in sixth, having dropped back to fifth on the opening lap before losing a further place to Cox on the last lap of the race.

GRM’s James Moffat was one of the biggest movers of the race, hauling his Renault up to eighth by the end having started down in 14th on the grid.

The top ten was completed by the Honda of Zac Soutar and the Audi of Will Brown, who had started at the very back following his shock absorber failure in Saturday’s opening race.

Wall Racing’s Fabian Coulthard was 11th, moving up a place towards the end of the race when race one winner Josh Buchan made a mistake entering the main straight.

Buchan struggled to 12th, losing two places over the course of the race, finishing ahead of Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso.

Caruso had been battling a bent steering arm throughout the race, and the Alfa Romeo driver almost failed to take the start after his car wouldn’t start on the grid, before it came to life when he was being towed.

Aaron Cameron was down in 15th, the GRM Peugeot driver dropping to the back of the pack after a stall on the opening lap, from which he then had to stage a recovery drive.

Ben Bargwanna’s turbo hose problems continued and he was the last classified finisher, three laps down.

Race three is scheduled to get underway at 16:10 local time (08:10 CEST, 07:10 BST).

Race results

1 9 Jay HANSON AWC MPC Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 16 25:45.4978 1:35.005 1
2 2 Luke KING MOUTAI / Zip Pay Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 1.830 1:35.123 4
3 11 Nathan MORCOM HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 3.405 1:35.147 5
4 50 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 16 13.142 1:36.007 3
5 33 Jordan COX Swyftx GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 16 14.330 1:35.485 8
6 333 Brad SHIELS Royal Purple Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 14.879 1:36.043 2
7 34 James MOFFAT LCMT+ Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 16 15.172 1:35.903 14
8 8 Dylan O’KEEFFE Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 16 17.167 1:35.954 7
9 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 16 22.597 1:36.024 6
10 999 Will BROWN MPC Team Liqui Moly Audi RS3 LMS TCR 16 22.841 1:36.045 21
11 24 Fabian COULTHARD Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 16 23.300 1:35.978 17
12 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 23.501 1:35.881 10
13 10 Michael CARUSO Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 16 23.870 1:35.810 20
14 15 Michael CLEMENTE Michael Clemente Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 16 24.449 1:35.764 12
15 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 16 24.935 1:36.438 9
16 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Purple Sector Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 16 31.798 1:36.235 13
17 89 Braydan WILLMINGTON Braydan Willmington Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 16 32.692 1:36.494 15
18 130 Bailey SWEENY HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 39.065 1:36.244 11
19 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 13 + 3 LAPS 1:37.078 19
R 22 Iain MCDOUGALL Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 11 DNF 1:36.271 16
R 41 Kody GARLAND Valvoline Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 11 DNF 1:37.717 18
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -