Martin Andersen canters to victory in Oschersleben race two

Liqui Moly Team Engstler’s Martin Andersen eased to victory in the final ADAC TCR Germany race of the weekend at Oschersleben, despite a late race safety car wiping out his early lead.

Andersen didn’t repeat the mistake he made in race one, where despite also having pole he had lost the lead after a poor start.

The Dane moved into a clear lead when the lights went out in race two, as NordPass’ Jonas Karklys held second behind him.

- Advertisement -

Albert Legutko made a strong start and was into third early on, gaining two places on the opening lap in his older model Honda Civic.

But the Pole only held that place for a handful of laps, as ROJA Motorsport’s René Kircher gained the final podium place a few laps later and Legutko then had his hands full with compatriot Szymon Ładniak pressuring him hard.

On lap 11, Ładniak got into fourth at the Shell Curve, and thereafter Legutko was under intense pressure from the hard charging Jessica Bäckman, who had been coming through the field after starting from 13th and last following qualifying troubles.

Legutko cut the chicane under pressure from Bäckman on lap 12, and then a lap later he pulled off the circuit at Turn 12 with a broken right-front wheel.

Thus a late-race safety car was required, but due to inefficiencies in clearing Legutko’s car, all bar one more lap would be held behind the safety car.

The race resumed with a sprint to the finish, which didn’t offer anyone the chance to catch and pass Andersen, who claimed his second victory in the series.

Karklys was second, with the podium being completed by Kircher, despite the youngster pressuring Karklys hard for the position on the last lap.

Ładniak held on to take fourth, ahead of Bäckman in fifth and the 62-year-old Roland Hertner in sixth.

Maurer Motorsport’s Vincent Radermecker was the sole Holden Astra driver to finish on the lead lap, taking seventh, ahead of Patrick Sing’s self-run Hyundai i30 N in eighth.

Robin Jahr had to pit early on to rectify an issue and only finished in 11th a lap down. Max Gruhn retired his new-generation Audi RS3 LMS after eight laps when smoke began emanating from his car.

The next TCR Germany event takes place at the Red Bull Ring on 21 – 22 May.

Race results

1 19 Martin ANDERSEN Liqui Moly Team Engstler Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 19 LAPS 1:32.562 1
2 27 Jonas KARKLYS NordPass Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 2.011 1:32.761 2
3 8 René KIRCHER ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 2.454 1:32.401 3
4 21 Szymon ŁADNIAK Liqui Moly Team Engstler Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 4.773 1:33.432 4
5 26 Jessica BÄCKMAN ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai Veloster N TCR 19 5.144 1:33.097 13
6 9 Roland HERTNER Liqui Moly Team Engstler Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 5.587 1:33.908 6
7 11 Vincent RADERMECKER maurer motorsport Holden Astra TCR 19 5.957 1:33.306 8
8 34 Patrick SING RaceSing Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 7.583 1:34.194 7
9 38 Kai ROSOWSKI K-Ro Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 19 17.306 1:37.504 10
10 17 Michael MAURER maurer motorsport Holden Astra TCR 18 + 1 LAP 1:42.191 11
11 22 Robin JAHR ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai Veloster N TCR 18 + 1 LAP 1:33.402 12
R 77 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 12 DNF 1:33.379 5
R 13 Max GRUHN Gruhn Stahlbau Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 2021 8 DNF 1:33.355 9
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -