CUPRA EKS unveils FIA ETCR driver line-up

CUPRA EKS has unveiled its four drivers for the 2022 FIA eTouring Car World Cup, with Tom Blomqvist and Adrien Tambay joining Mattias Ekström and Jordi Gené in the team.

Following the news earlier this month that Ekström’s EKS outfit would prepare the Spanish manufacturer’s cars this year, the driver line-up has now been unveiled.

Gené, 51, stays on with CUPRA for another year alongside new Team Boss and former DTM racer Ekström.

- Advertisement -

For their new team-mates, Ekström has relied on some of his old DTM rivals. Brit Blomqvist, 28, competed in the DTM against Ekström from 2015 to 2017, whilst Frenchman Tambay, 31, raced as a stablemate to the Swede from 2012 to 2016.

The team has also revealed a new livery for the second season of all-electric touring car racing.

CUPRA has been working on developing its Leon e-Racer, optimising the weight of the car and fitting reinforced parts to make it even more robust.

A new roof hatch and removable plastic windows have also been installed to allow medical access to the cockpit if entry via the doors is not possible.

“We are very pleased to announce our exciting CUPRA EKS driver line-up for this year’s FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup,” said Xavi Serra, CUPRA Racing Head of Technical Development.

“To bring drivers of the calibre of Tom Blomqvist and Adrien Tambay into the all-electric series for the first time is something very special.

“We are sure they will adapt well and score very good result – whilst in Mattias Ekström and Jordi Gené we have the experience, race winning skill and continuity that every team dreams of having.”

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -