Jordan Cox doubles up in TCR Australia season finale

Jordan Cox won again in the final race of the 2021 TCR Australia season at Mount Panorama, inheriting the lead when longtime leader James Moffat suffered from a tyre issue.

With the grid decided by the accumulated points from the first two races of the event, GRM’s Aaron Cameron lined up on pole position with Cox alongside.

At the start, Cameron led from Cox and Jason Bargwanna, who progressed to third past Moffat despite his Peugeot smoking on the warmup lap.

- Advertisement -

The move was short-lived, as Moffat then passed Bargwanna for third around the outside of Turn 2, before completing a strong pass for second on Cox at The Chase at the end of the opening lap.

Cameron had opened up a comfortable margin on the first tour, but Moffat worked to reduce that over the subsequent laps, bringing Cox with him, and at The Chase on lap four he dived up the inside for the lead, with Cox completing a pass for second at the final corner of the same lap.

The safety car then came out at the end of lap four when Nathan Morcom, who had also been given a penalty for a jump start, crashed on the mountain, hitting the wall with his left-front and stopping on the circuit.

Racing resumed on lap seven, and Moffat began to eke out a lead again, although after a few laps Cox closed the gap and began to build the pressure.

On lap 12, Moffat then suffered from a front-right tyre delamination on the back straight, dropping him out of the race and handing Cox the lead.

Cox then held station for the final three laps, winning for the second time this week ahead of Cameron in second.

GRM’s Michael Caruso completed the podium in his Alfa Romeo, having got past Jason Bargwanna for the position on lap nine with a solid move at The Chase, claiming his second podium finish this week.

Melbourne Performance Centre’s Luke King was fourth, having passed Ben Bargwanna two laps from the end when the Peugeot driver went off and dropped six places, before gaining fourth due to Jason Bargwanna picking up a jump-start penalty.

Jason Bargwanna was classified in fifth, ahead of the Honda of Zac Soutar in sixth, the independent racer picking up his best finish of the season after coming through from 11th on the grid.

Newcomer Christopher Mies took the chequered flag in seventh, ahead of the Tilton Racing Hyundai of Brad Shiels in eighth.

Wall Racing’s John Martin and HMO Customer Racing’s Josh Bucan completed the top ten.

Race result

1 5 Jordan COX Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 15 38:21.4591 2:15.988 2
2 155 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 15 0.583 2:16.194 1
3 150 Michael CARUSO Valvoline Racing GRM Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 15 1.417 2:16.055 10
4 2 Luke KING MPC Moutai Audi RS3 LMS TCR 15 11.901 2:16.967 12
5 17 Jason BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 15 13.212 2:16.803 4
6 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 15 15.190 2:17.240 11
7 75 Christopher MIES Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 15 15.517 2:16.967 13
8 333 Brad SHIELS Tilton Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 17.155 2:17.181 16
9 24 John MARTIN Mobil 1 Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 15 17.973 2:16.971 5
10 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 20.260 2:17.028 17
11 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Purple Sector / Southern Star Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 15 20.802 2:17.591 6
12 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 15 28.176 2:16.172 8
13 33 Dylan O’KEEFFE Lowbake Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 15 30.651 2:17.611 14
14 78 Keegan BRAIN Purple Sector Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 15 31.232 2:19.103 9
15 34 James MOFFAT LMCT+ Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 14 + 1 LAP 2:16.265 3
R 11 Nathan MORCOM HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 3 DNF 2:18.425 7
NS 9 Jay HANSON AWC / Melbourne Performance Centre Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR DNS N/A 15
NS 25 Chaz MOSTERT MPC Bostik Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR DNS N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -