BTCC field expands to 32 cars for 2022 as licence holders confirmed

The British Touring Car Championship will expand to a record-equalling 32 cars once again next year, as TOCA has confirmed the allocation of TOCA BTCC Licences (TBLs).

TOCA holds three spare licences, which it has agreed to loan out to Team Dynamics, Speedworks Motorsport and BTC Racing for next season.

It means the new hybrid era for the championship will kick off with the highest number of entries possible, with both Speedworks and BTC having their highest-ever number of entries, at 3 and 4 cars respectively.

- Advertisement -

“At our annual teams meeting last month the majority of team owners voted for TOCA to provide the loan of our spare TBLs, to help satisfy requirements,” explained BTCC Chief Executive Alan Gow.

“Therefore, I’ve released our three TBLs on a single-season-only loan basis; one each to BTC Racing, Team Dynamics and Speedworks Motorsport. This means the grid will now increase to its absolute maximum of 32 cars for next season.

“The demand for the BTCC has never been greater. Clearly, this also means I’ve failed to achieve my long-stated aim of reducing the grid size. Whilst that remains the goal going forward, admittedly it’s a nice problem to have…”

Teams will reveal details of their driver line-ups and entry names in the coming months. The final entry list will be published by TOCA in March 2022.

2022 confirmed TBL holders

Excelr8 Motorsport 4
Team Dynamics 3*
Aiden Moffat Racing 2
Motorbase Performance 4
Team HARD 3
Speedworks Motorsport 3
West Surrey Racing 3
Ciceley Motorsport 2
Power Maxed Racing 2
BTC Racing 4
Boardley Motorsport 2

*including one TBL on loan from TOCA

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -