Martin Andersen claims pole position on TCR Germany début

Hyundai Team Engstler’s Martin Andersen claimed pole position on his début in the TCR Germany series at Oschersleben, with the Dane edging out team-mate Luca Engstler in qualifying for race one.

Andersen has moved from TCR Denmark to the German series for 2021, and he was quick out of the box. Engstler had been on top of the times for much of the 20-minute qualifying session, before Andersen hit the top of the times with around three minutes remaining, his lap of 1 minute 30.625 seconds being over two tenths faster than his German team-mate.

Engstler is campaigning in TCR Germany alongside his season in the FIA World Touring Car Cup this year and had to settle for a front-row starting position alongside his new team-mate.

- Advertisement -

Dominik Fugel was the leading Honda driver in third, over half a second off the pace, with his brother and team-mate Marcel Fugel alongside in fourth.

Nicolas Gruber but his Engstler motorsport Hyundai in fifth, with Lithuanian racer Jonas Karklys posting an identical time but having to settle for sixth after setting his later in the session.

René Kircher had been quickest in the early stages of the session but the Volkswagen Team Oettinger driver had to settle for seventh, over a second off the pace.

Lubner Motorsport’s Philipp Regensperger was eighth in the return of the Opel Astra to the series, whilst the top ten was completed by Wimmer Werk Motorsport duo Peter Gross and Eric Scalvini in their Audi and CUPRA cars respectively.

Race one gets underway at 12:40 CEST (11:40 BST). Race two takes place on Sunday, and in a new format for 2021 will also feature its own qualifying session in the morning.

Session results

1 19 Martin ANDERSEN Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 7 1:30.625
2 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 3 1:30.876 0.251
3 88 Dominik FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 8 1:31.298 0.673
4 55 Marcel FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 7 1:31.372 0.747
5 97 Nicolas GRUBER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 3 1:31.584 0.959
6 27 Jonas KARKLYS NordPass Hyundai i30 N TCR 7 1:31.584 0.959
7 80 René KIRCHER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 4 1:31.885 1.260
8 33 Philipp REGENSPERGER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 8 1:32.335 1.710
9 5 Peter GROSS Wimmer Werk Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR 8 1:32.743 2.118
10 6 Eric SCALVINI Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 4 1:32.753 2.128
11 22 Robin JAHR ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai i30 N TCR 5 1:33.130 2.505
12 34 Patrick SING RaceSing Hyundai i30 N TCR 5 1:33.989 3.364
13 21 Szymon ŁADNIAK JP Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 3 1:34.219 3.594
14 9 Roland HERTNER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 5 1:34.223 3.598
15 56 Günter BENNINGER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 8 1:34.553 3.928
16 99 Christian VOITHOFER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 6 1:34.747 4.122
17 17 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 0 No time N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -