Dominik Fugel wins as Antti Buri takes title in close finale

Dominik Fugel won a dramatic final ADAC TCR Germany race of the season at Oschersleben, finishing ahead of title rivals Harald Proczyk and Antti Buri, with the latter clinching the drivers’ title.

The reverse-grid race started with René Kircher on pole position, but the Volkswagen driver immediately lost out to fellow front-row starter Marcel Fugel when the lights went out.

Further back, Proczyk made a poor start from fifth on the grid, and as Honda’s Tiago Monteiro attempted to squeeze through a gap with team-mate Dominik Fugel and Proczyk, there was contact between Monteiro and the HP Racing driver, pitching Monteiro into the barriers and out of the race.

- Advertisement -

Buri, who started eighth, then went off unassisted at the first corner, dropping to the rear of the pack, as the safety car was called for with Marcel leading Kircher and brother Dominik at the front.

When racing resumed on lap four, Kircher attempted to pass Marcel Fugel for the lead, but made contact at turn 8 which allowed Dominik into second.

Marcel then immediately allowed his brother into the lead and, as things then stood, the title looked to be going the way of the Honda ADAC Sachsen driver, with Proczyk and Buri down the order.

Proczyk and Buri began to make progress, and by lap 11 were up to fourth and fifth respectively. Guest entry Luca Engstler then made contact with Marcel Fugel whilst battling for second, tapping the Honda into a spin at the final corner and breaking his Hyundai’s front-left suspension, taking the German out of the race.

The incident allowed Proczyk into second and Buri into third, although it looked as if they couldn’t catch Dominik Fugel, who had by this stage built up a lead of over 12 seconds as his brother acted as a ‘cork in the bottle’ behind.

That situation changed on lap 14, however, when Proczyk’s team-mate Jan Seyffert went off into the gravel whilst running in eighth, prompting a late safety car period and wiping out Fugel’s lead.

When racing resumed three laps later, Proczyk had to catch and pass Fugel, whilst keeping Buri in third, to take the title, whilst Fugel’s fate was in other’s hands as he no longer looked likely to take enough points off his rivals.

In the end Proczyk couldn’t challenge the leading Honda driver for the win, giving Fugel a fourth victory and meaning that Buri clinched the drivers’ title by finishing third.

Engstler Motorsport’s Nico Gruber claimed fourth, ahead of Kircher and Albert Legutko, as only six drivers finished the race, Marcel Fugel having retired to the pits after 14 laps.

Race result

1 88 Dominik FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 19 LAPS 1:32.681 6
2 2 Harald PROCZYK HP Racing International Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 1.299 1:33.108 5
3 13 Antti BURI Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 1.885 1:33.226 8
4 97 Nicolas GRUBER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 3.182 1:33.470 9
5 8 René KIRCHER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 19 3.940 1:33.692 1
6 17 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 19 4.843 1:33.808 11
R 55 Marcel FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 14 DNF 1:34.297 2
R 98 Jan SEYFFERT HP Racing International Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 DNF 1:34.277 4
R 108 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 11 DNF 1:33.694 10
R 92 Dziugas TOVILAVICIUS SKUBA RACING TEAM Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 11 DNF 1:34.621 3
R 18 Tiago MONTEIRO Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 0 DNF N/A 7
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -