Audi confirms unchanged driver line-up for 2020 DTM

Audi confirms unchanged driver line-up for 2020 DTM

Mike Rockenfeller, Robin Frijns, René Rast, Jamie Green, Nico Müller and Loïc Duval
Photo: Audi AG

Audi has confirmed an unchanged driver line-up for the 2020 DTM season, retaining the services of Mike Rockenfeller, Robin Frijns, René Rast, Jamie Green, Nico Müller and Loïc Duval.

The announcement means that the Ingolstadt marque has opted for experience over youth in its driver line-up, which has an average age of 33 years. It’s six drivers have a combined total of 43 seasons of experience between then.

The decision to retain its driver line-up, including champion Rast, was driven by the marque enjoying its most successful season in the DTM to-date in 2019, when Audi clinched all three titles, and a remarkable 40 out of 54 possible podium finishes – a success rate of 74%.

“After such a great season only the famous motto can apply: Never change a winning team,” said Head of Audi Motorsport Dieter Gass.

“From my point of view, last year we had by far the strongest driver squad in the DTM. That’s why I’m very happy that we can continue to rely on the same six drivers in 2020.”

The drivers will remain in the same teams as in 2019. Abt Sportsline will feature Frijns and Müller, Team Phoenix will contain Duval and Rockenfeller whilst Team Rosberg will field Green and Rast.

Duval, 37, is the oldest driver in the squad, whilst Green, just two days younger and also 37, is the most experienced driver, followed by 36-year-old Rockenfeller.

Despite only having three full seasons in the DTM to his name, reigning champion Rast, 33, has proven to be the man to beat in recent years after claiming two titles and 17 race wins.

Only two drivers, Müller (27) and Frijns (28) are under the age of 30. Müller was a title contender last year, eventually finishing second after taking three wins, whilst Frijns was on the podium five times as he improved in his second season of DTM competition.

In addition to the unchanged six factory drivers, independent outfit WRT will also field two Audi RS5 DTM cars for Emirati racer Ed Jones and Swiss Fabio Scherer.

Audi’s drivers will head to the island of Lanzarote next week for pre-season preparations, whilst the official DTM pre-season test days take place at Monza from the 16 to 18 March.