No changes to Audi’s factory DTM driver line-up for 2019

No changes to Audi’s factory DTM driver line-up for 2019

Audi DTM drivers 2019
Photo: Audi AG

Audi has revealed an unchanged driver line-up for the 2019 DTM, with Loïc Duval, Robin Frijns, Jamie Green, Nico Müller, René Rast and Mike Rockenfeller all continuing with the manufacturer.

The six factory-backed drivers will remain unchanged, whilst the Audi customer team WRT will reveal its own driver line-up at a later date.

The distribution of the six factory drivers between the three teams will also remain unchanged. That means Phoenix Racing keeps Rockenfeller and Duval, Team Rosberg keeps Rast and Green and Team Abt Sportsline keeps Müller and Frijns.

“There’ll be many exciting innovations in the DTM next year,” said Head of Audi Motorsport Dieter Gass. “The more powerful engine will no doubt be the most significant one.

“In Loïc, Robin, Jamie, Nico, René and Mike we already had an extremely strong driver squad in 2018 and are continuing this line-up in the new season.

“In my view, they’re the right six for Audi Sport. All of them have the potential to battle for the DTM title. Aside from that, they again proved to be extremely good team players last season.

“In the past, we changed the team compositions from time to time. However, in the current pairings, the drivers complement each other perfectly so that we didn’t see any room for improvement in this respect.”

Rast finished the 2018 season as the best-placed Audi driver, after the 32-year-old German completed the season with a stunning run of six consecutive victories to finish as the overall runner-up, just four points from taking the title.

26-year-old Swiss racer Müller was the only other driver to end the year in the top ten for the Ingolstadt marque, as none of the other Audi drivers recorded a victory in an at-times challenging season.