2019 TCR Europe calendar unveiled with new circuits and points system

2019 TCR Europe calendar unveiled with new circuits and points system

TCR Europe pack
Photo: TCR Media

The calendar for the 2019 TCR Europe season has been released, with the series visiting seven circuits in 2019, with the addition of the Red Bull Ring and Oschersleben to the calendar, together with the change of points being awarded to the top 15 drivers.

Two circuits which featured on the 2018 calendar, Circuit Paul Ricard and one of the Dutch venues, have been dropped in favour of adding a race in Austria and a race in Germany respectively.

The calendar was discussed at the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) meeting in St Petersburg today (Wednesday) due to its international status.

The season will kick off at the Hungaroring in the last weekend of April, before moving on the The Netherlands in May at a venue yet to be confirmed. In 2018 TCR Europe visited the country twice, with a race held in conjunction with the FIA WTCR in May at Zandvoort before a second event at Assen in August. The venue for the Dutch race in 2019 has yet to be confirmed.

As in 2018, five events of the 2019 calendar will also be valid for the TCR Benelux series. The event at Spa-Francorchamps in June will also count towards the TCR UK Championship, whilst the events in Hungary, Austria and Italy will also be valid for the new TCR Eastern Europe series.

A new points system will reward the top fifteen drivers in each race according to the following scale: 40, 35, 30, 27, 24,21, 18, 15, 13, 11, 9, 7, 5, 3, 1.

“We were delighted to see that the series’ inaugural season was so successful, attracting some of the best Touring Car drivers and teams from all over Europe,” said Promoter Paulo Ferreira.

“We are confident that it will grow even further in both quantity and quality next year, especially with the addition of visits of competitors from TCR Benelux, TCR UK and TCR Eastern Europe.

“We will also continue to encourage the TCR national series to run selected events together with TCR Europe.”

2019 TCR Europe Series calendar

Round Country Circuit Date
1, 2 Hungaroring 27 – 28 April
3, 4 The Netherlands 17 – 19 May
5, 6 Circuit de Spa Francorchamps 8 – 9 June
7, 8 Red Bull Ring 13 – 14 July
9, 10 Motorsport Arena Oschersleben 3 – 4 August
11, 12 Circuit de Barcelona Catalunya 21 – 22 September
13, 14 Autodromo Nazionale Monza 12 – 13 October