New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Josh Price takes first win in TCR UK season finale

Josh Price scored his maiden win in the final race of the TCR UK season at Donington Park, with the Honda driver dominating the race ahead of the CUPRA of Stewart Lines and the Volkswagen of new champion Dan Lloyd.

Price got the jump on reverse-grid pole-sitter Carl Swift when the lights went out, leading into the first corner as Swift settled into second in his Maximum Motorsport CUPRA.

With Swift unable to offer a challenge to Price’s Honda, the 19-year-old was able to scamper away at the front of the field before eventually scoring a first win by the biggest victory margin of the season, having an advantage of over 18 seconds at the chequered flag.

- Advertisement -

Swift faded away in the final three laps of the shortened 15-minute race, allowing team-mate Lines to claim a best-ever TCR UK result in second, having started from fifth.

WestCoast Racing’s Lloyd was involved in some close duels during the race and completed the podium in third, having started from ninth and fighting his way past team-mate Andreas Bäckman on the penultimate lap of the race at the first corner.

Báckman brought his Volkswagen home in fourth ahead of his sister Jessica Bäckman in fifth, who was involved in some to-and-fro battles with her brother, Lloyd and the charging Pyro Motorsport car of Ollie Taylor, who took sixth.

Taylor had earlier been running in fifth, and he went around the outside of Andreas Bäckman for the position at Macleans on the outside line, before trying the same on Finlay Crocker at the following corner.

However there was contact between the two Hondas and Taylor went wide through the gravel, dropping down to ninth and forcing him to stage a comeback drive, from which he could only salvage sixth.

Crocker took the finish in seventh, ahead of Swift in eighth, with the latter CUPRA driver losing four places in one lap late in the race as his tyres faded.

Lewis Kent brought his Hyundai home in ninth, whilst Sean Walkinshaw was the last of the runners and completed the top ten once again, 12 seconds adrift of the next car.

Darelle Wilson failed to start the race after suffering a driveshaft failure in his Vauxhall Astra in the first race, which could not be repaired in time for race two.

Race result

1 28 Josh PRICE JP Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 11 15:00.562 1:21.256 2
2 95 Stewart LINES Maximum Motorsport CUPRA TCR V3 DSG 11 18.417 1:22.160 5
3 23 Dan LLOYD WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 11 18.741 1:21.385 9
4 19 Andreas BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 11 19.906 1:22.365 8
5 26 Jessica BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 11 20.992 1:22.180 7
6 32 Oliver TAYLOR Pyro Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 11 21.493 1:21.303 6
7 8 Finlay CROCKER Verizon Connect Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 11 24.889 1:22.784 4
8 45 Carl SWIFT Maximum Motorsport CUPRA TCR 11 25.567 1:22.566 1
9 38 Lewis KENT Essex & Kent Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 11 27.890 1:22.736 3
10 55 Sean WALKINSHAW Sean Walkinshaw Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 11 39.388 1:23.996 11
NS 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR DNS N/A 10
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -