New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Dan Lloyd leads title rival Ollie Taylor in TCR UK practice

TCR UK Touring Car Championship leader Dan Lloyd re-asserted himself atop the time sheets in Free Practice at Donington Park, edging out title rival Ollie Taylor by 0.640 seconds.

Drying conditions at the 1.97 mile East Midlands circuit meant a 4-second reduction in lap times from the morning’s warm-up session, bringing the WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi to the fore.

Qualifying at 16:35 BST this afternoon could prove crucial for the pair, with a maximum of 11 points available for pole position, and just 31 between them in the race to be the series’ inaugural Champion.

- Advertisement -

Lloyd’s team mates Andreas and Jessica Backman came next in third and fourth position, the latter keen to maintain a slender points advantage over Lewis Kent’s Hyundai i30 N TCR in the season-concluding double header.

Carl Swift and Stewart Lines continued a solid showing for the CUPRA, sandwiching the Vauxhall Astra of Darelle Wilson in fifth and seventh respectively.

Finlay Crocker was eighth despite briefly pulling over onto the grass at McLeans, with Josh Price dropping to ninth after a strong showing earlier in the day.

The other Honda Civic FK2 on the grid – that of Sean Walkinshaw – rounded out the top ten, with Lewis Kent bringing up the time sheets as in the warm-up.

Session results

1 23 Dan LLOYD WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 17 1:10.704 0.000
2 32 Oliver TAYLOR Pyro Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 17 1:11.344 0.640
3 19 Andreas BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 1:11.784 1.080
4 26 Jessica BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 21 1:12.100 1.396
5 45 Carl SWIFT Maximum Motorsport CUPRA TCR 18 1:12.201 1.497
6 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR 14 1:12.264 1.560
7 95 Stewart LINES Maximum Motorsport CUPRA TCR V3 DSG 18 1:12.453 1.749
8 28 Josh PRICE JP Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 13 1:12.499 1.795
9 8 Finlay CROCKER Verizon Connect Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 11 1:12.621 1.917
10 55 Sean WALKINSHAW Sean Walkinshaw Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 19 1:13.466 2.762
11 38 Lewis KENT Essex & Kent Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 1:13.496 2.792
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -