Niels Langeveld canters to race one win in Zandvoort

Racing One’s Niels Langeveld scored a comfortable victory in the opening ADAC TCR Germany race of the weekend at Zandvoort, with LMS Racing’s Antti Buri and HP Racing’s Harald Proczyk completing the podium.

The start saw Langeveld immediately build a lead, but further back a start-line shunt brought about a safety car intervention at the end of the first lap of racing.

Michelle Halder had stalled her CUPRA on the line, and as Team Engstler’s Kai Jordan tried to take avoiding action he clipped Lukas Niedertscheider’s Peugeot, with all three cars making contact and forced into retirement.

- Advertisement -

Two laps behind the safety car followed, and when it returned to the pits Dutchman Langeveld was able to make a strong restart, before building his lead over the remainder of the race to take his second win of the season by a six-second margin.

Buri came under pressure for second but held on to take a fourth podium of the year, ahead of Proczyk in third – with the Austrian now tied on points with Langeveld at the head of the championship standings.

Mike Halder was the leading Honda driver in fourth, having made no progress from his grid position, ahead of Hyundai Team Engstler’s Luca Engstler in fifth. Engstler had got a strong start to end the first lap in fifth, as team-mate Theo Coicaud slipped back at the start.

YACO Racing’s Simon Reicher brought his Audi home in sixth, ahead of Frenchman Coicaud in seventh, the Hyundai driver unable to regain his lost ground earlier in the race.

Prosport Performance’s Max Hesse, HP Racing’s Luke Wankmüller and Team Engstler’s Niko Kankkunen completed the top ten in a relatively quite race after the first lap dramas.

Several drivers succumbed to technical issues during the race, with TOPCAR Sport’s Loris Prattes stopping on lap one, Benjamin Leuchter pulling his Volkswagen off on lap four and Maurits Sandberg parking his Audi on lap eleven.

Late in the race Jasmin Preisig went off at Turn 6, beaching her car in the gravel, although it was sufficiently far from the circuit that another safety car intervention was not required.

The TCR Germany racing continues at the seaside circuit with race two at 09:50 CEST (08:50 BST) on Sunday morning.

Race result

1 14 Niels LANGEVELD Racing One Audi RS3 LMS TCR 17 17 LAPS 1:46.230 1
2 30 Antti BURI LMS Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 17 6.040 1:46.935 2
3 22 Harald PROCZYK HP Racing International Opel Astra TCR 17 8.321 1:46.984 3
4 7 Mike HALDER Team Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic TCR 2018 17 12.284 1:47.277 4
5 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 17 13.717 1:47.393 10
6 54 Simon REICHER YACO Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 17 14.285 1:47.349 8
7 27 Theo COICAUD Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 17 14.612 1:47.434 6
8 19 Max HESSE Prosport Performance Audi RS3 LMS TCR 17 15.592 1:47.491 5
9 11 Luke WANKMÜLLER HP Racing International Opel Astra TCR 17 17.053 1:47.350 9
10 47 Niko KANKKUNEN Team Engstler Europe Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 17 24.754 1:47.755 16
11 88 Dominik FUGEL Team Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic TCR 2018 17 28.200 1:47.966 22
12 39 Florian THOMA Team Engstler Europe Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 17 28.780 1:47.794 18
13 29 Jussi KUUSINIEMI Positione Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 17 29.572 1:47.444 17
14 23 Sebastian STEIBEL Steibel Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 17 43.399 1:49.319 21
15 33 JC REYNOLDS TOPCAR Sport CUPRA TCR 17 1:05.397 1:49.977 20
R 17 Jasmin PREISIG Steibel Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 11 DNF 1:48.517 14
R 99 Maurits SANDBERG Racing One Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 DNF 1:47.669 19
R 10 Benjamin LEUCHTER Max Kruse Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 3 DNF 2:32.376 12
R 53 Michelle HALDER Profi-Car Team Halder CUPRA TCR 0 DNF N/A 11
R 3 Kai JORDAN Team Engstler Germany Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 0 DNF N/A 13
R 42 Lukas NIEDERTSCHEIDER Niedertscheider Motorsport Peugeot 308 TCR 0 DNF N/A 15
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -