Luca Engstler leads Hyundai 1-2 as Niels Langeveld stars at Zandvoort

Luca Engstler lead home a 1-2 finish for Hyundai Team Engstler in race two at Zandvoort, with Theo Coicaud holding off the charging Audi of Niels Langeveld for second place.

Engstler started the reverse-grid race from pole position and lead the field into Turn 1 as behind him team-mate Coicaud managed to jump from fifth on the grid to third on the opening lap.

TOPCAR Sport’s Loris Prattes had jumped into second at the start, but the German was later handed a drive-through penalty for a jump start and he dropped down the field, having lost second to Coicaud a lap earlier.

- Advertisement -

The safety car was required for just one lap after the opening tour, when Prosport’s Max Hesse spun at Turn 5 after slight contact from Langeveld, although his Audi was undamaged and he was able to continue when his car was recovered.

As the racing resumed on lap three, it was Saturday’s race one winner Langeveld who began a charge, having made up one position on the opening lap.

The Dutchman immediately set about making progress and lap four saw him pass Antti Buri’s LMS Racing Audi for eighth, followed by Simon Reicher’s Audi the following lap, which became a pass for sixth after Prattes pitted to serve his penalty.

Langeveld then took advantage of title rival Harald Proczyk being distracted by attempting to pass Mike Halder ahead, slipping his car up the inside of Proczyk’s Opel at turn 7 on lap six.

Lap seven saw Langeveld make two passes on Halder at turn 1 and then the Opel of Luke Wankmüller at Turn 10 to move into third, and he set about closing the gap to Coicaud.

However the laps counted down and despite catching up to the rear bumper of Coicaud, Langeveld played it safe and did not make a move on the Frenchman, settling for third and an extended championship lead.

Wankümller took fourth, equalling his best result of the year, ahead of Halder in fifth, who was again the leading Honda driver.

Proczyk finished in fifth, and as a result is now nine points behind Lageveld in the drivers’ standings, whilst Engstler has closed to 13 points behind the Austrian.

Reicher took seventh, ahead of Buri in eighth and Max Kruse Racing’s Benjamin Leuchter in ninth, after a quiet second half of the race that seemingly saw no-one other than Langeveld able to progress.

The second ADAC Sachsen Honda of Dominik Fugel completed the top ten, in what was a subdued weekend for the German following his success last time out at the Nürburgring.

The only retirement of the race was Dutch driver Maurits Sandberg, who brought his Audi RS3 into the pits after 12 laps with technical issues.

The next TCR Germany round takes place at the Sachsenring on 7 – 9 September.

Race result

1 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 18 LAPS 1:47.439 1
2 27 Theo COICAUD Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 1.069 1:47.420 5
3 14 Niels LANGEVELD Racing One Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 1.983 1:46.893 10
4 11 Luke WANKMÜLLER HP Racing International Opel Astra TCR 18 8.926 1:47.654 2
5 7 Mike HALDER Team Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic TCR 2018 18 11.861 1:48.083 7
6 22 Harald PROCZYK HP Racing International Opel Astra TCR 18 12.307 1:47.857 8
7 54 Simon REICHER YACO Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 14.417 1:47.830 3
8 30 Antti BURI LMS Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 14.967 1:47.983 9
9 10 Benjamin LEUCHTER Max Kruse Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 16.032 1:47.702 12
10 88 Dominik FUGEL Team Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic TCR 2018 18 20.334 1:48.290 13
11 42 Lukas NIEDERTSCHEIDER Niedertscheider Motorsport Peugeot 308 TCR 18 20.959 1:48.244 16
12 53 Michelle HALDER Profi-Car Team Halder CUPRA TCR 18 23.025 1:47.898 11
13 3 Kai JORDAN Team Engstler Germany Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 30.965 1:48.504 14
14 39 Florian THOMA Team Engstler Europe Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 31.671 1:48.767 19
15 29 Jussi KUUSINIEMI Positione Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 32.087 1:48.721 18
16 47 Niko KANKKUNEN Team Engstler Europe Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 32.603 1:48.777 17
17 17 Jasmin PREISIG Steibel Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 18 32.713 1:48.729 15
18 60 Loris PRATTES TOPCAR Sport CUPRA TCR 18 32.968 1:47.706 4
19 23 Sebastian STEIBEL Steibel Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 43.823 1:48.208 22
20 33 JC REYNOLDS TOPCAR Sport CUPRA TCR 18 52.335 1:48.943 21
21 19 Max HESSE Prosport Performance Audi RS3 LMS TCR 17 + 1 LAP 1:52.754 6
R 99 Maurits SANDBERG Racing One Audi RS3 LMS TCR 12 DNF 1:48.555 20
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -