New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Dan Lloyd secures second successive TCR UK pole at Knockhill

WestCoast Racing’s Dan Lloyd secured his second consecutive pole position in the TCR UK series at Knockhill, beating Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat to the top time by two and a half tenths of a second.

Lloyd hit the top of the times after just under eight minutes with a lap of 51.804 seconds, before improving on his subsequent lap and then sealing pole position with a time of 50.823 seconds – the fastest of the weekend – eight minutes later.

The pole is the championship leader’s second in a row and gives Lloyd an extra 11 points for claiming the top grid position, with the series awarding points to the top ten qualifiers each weekend.

- Advertisement -

Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffat was a solid second, with the Scot improving on his best time at the two thirds stage of the session but unable to catch the dominant Lloyd, with the margin between the duo ending up as two and a half tenths.

Pyro Motorsport’s Ollie Taylor was third quickest, moving his Honda up the times inside the final ten minutes to make it three different brands in the top three positions.

Swede Andras Bäckman, who had been Lloyd’s closest challenger throughout Friday and Saturday practice, ended up in fourth, six tenths back.

BMR’s Josh Price made it out into the session in his Honda Civic after the team completed his engine change with just minutes to spare, eventually qualifying in fifth despite limited running earlier in the day.

Finlay Crocker qualified his newer-spec Honda Civic in seventh, whilst eighth-placed Lewis Kent was the last driver within a second of the pace in his Hyundai.

As a result of TCR UK’s unique reverse grid format the top ten of the driver’s second fastest times are reversed.

That gives SWR’s Sean Walkinshaw pole position for race two, with DW Racing’s Darelle Wilson alongside him.

Kent will line up in third, ahead of Jessica Bäckman, who was eighth quickest in the qualifying times, in fourth.

Pace-setters Lloyd and Moffat will line up in ninth and tenth respectively after their second fastest laps also proved to be the fastest of the second best tours, with Moffat having a slightly better time than Lloyd and thus ending up behind his rival for race two as well.

Qualifying results

1 23 Dan LLOYD WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 21 50.823 0.000
2 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 19 51.074 0.251
3 32 Oliver TAYLOR Pyro Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R TCR 27 51.304 0.481
4 19 Andreas BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 25 51.507 0.684
5 28 Josh PRICE BMR Autoglym Academy Honda Civic Type-R TCR 19 51.578 0.755
6 8 Finlay CROCKER Verizon Connect Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 24 51.638 0.815
7 38 Lewis KENT Essex & Kent Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 27 51.687 0.864
8 26 Jessica BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 29 51.878 1.055
9 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR 21 52.001 1.178
10 55 Sean WALKINSHAW Sean Walkinshaw Racing Honda Civic Type-R TCR 26 52.288 1.465
11 61 Derek PALMER Laser Tools Racing Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 23 52.446 1.623
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -