New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Dan Lloyd leads Andreas Bäckman in TCR UK test at Knockhill

WestCoast Racing’s Dan Lloyd topped the times after a full day of testing for the TCR UK series at Knockhill on Friday, edging out Swede Andreas Bäckman by two tenths in the combined classification.

Lapping the Scottish circuit in its reverse configuration, Lloyd posted the fastest time of the day in the morning session with a lap of 51.053 seconds.

The lap is notably faster than any British Touring Car Championship lap around the 1.27-mile circuit, although the time is also aided by running the circuit in reverse. The BTCC lap record for the clockwise configuration stands at 51.521 seconds set by Jason Plato in 2016.

- Advertisement -

Championship leader Lloyd would have topped all of the day’s sessions but for Bäckman putting in a lap of 51.266 seconds in the fourth and final session of the day to break the Leeds racer’s dominance.

Ollie Taylor was third quickest in his Pyro Motorsport Honda Civic, ahead of the Laser Tools Racing Alfa Romeo of local racer Aiden Moffat in fourth, although the Scot went off the track in the second session and damaged the car’s radiator and front bumper which meant he missed the third session in the afternoon.

TCR newcomer Josh Price was fifth fastest in Team BMR’s Honda Civic, 0.389 seconds off the pace. The team are entering Price this weekend as part of an evaluation into further outings in the series in 2018.

Free practice gets underway at 09:55 BST on Saturday, followed by qualifying at 14:55 BST.

Combined session results

1 23 Dan LLOYD WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 87 51.053 0.000
2 19 Andreas BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 95 51.266 0.213
3 32 Oliver TAYLOR Pyro Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R TCR 93 51.356 0.303
4 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 27 51.357 0.304
5 28 Josh PRICE BMR Autoglym Academy Honda Civic Type-R TCR 58 51.442 0.389
6 8 Finlay CROCKER Verizon Connect Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 87 51.630 0.577
7 38 Lewis KENT Essex & Kent Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 80 51.721 0.668
8 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR 64 51.756 0.703
9 55 Sean WALKINSHAW Sean Walkinshaw Racing Honda Civic Type-R TCR 66 52.013 0.960
10 26 Jessica BÄCKMAN WestCoast Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 101 52.054 1.001
11 61 Derek PALMER Laser Tools Racing Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 76 52.403 1.350
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -