New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Gabriele Tarquini goes fastest in second Adria practice

Hyundai’s Gabriele Tarquini set the pace in second practice for the TCR Europe Trophy at the Adria International Raceway, as the Italian saw off a challenge from Target Competition duo Josh Files and Giacomo Altoè.

Tin-top expert Tarquini got to the top of the times at the half-way stage of the session, putting in a time of 1 minute 20.260 seconds to go around three tenths slower than the best time in the morning’s foggy first session.

Brit Files improved inside the final five minutes of the half-hour session to take second, a mere 0.003 seconds slower than Tarquini, whilst the session’s early pace-setter, 17-year-old Altoè, ended up in third behind his fellow Honda racer Files.

- Advertisement -

Luca Engstler was the leading Volkswagen driver in fourth, ahead of V-Action Racing’s Luigi Ferrara in fifth after a strong performance in the Alfa Romeo.

The second Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen of Florian Thoma was sixth quickest, just over half a second off the pace.

Plamen Kralev, who is perhaps better known for competing in the ETCC, was a strong seventh in his Audi RS3, with the 44-year-old Bulgarian only completing five laps in the session.

Maxime Potty had been the early session pace-setter, but the Belgian ended up in eighth in his WRT-run Volkswagen, ahead of circuit owner Giovanni Altoè in ninth.

TCR Iberico champion Francisco Abreu rounded out the top ten, just under a second off the pace.

Russian racer Denis Girogoriev caused a short yellow-flag period when he spun his SEAT León into the gravel at Turn 9 with 12 minutes left in the session, requiring a recovery vehicle to remove the stranded car.

Qualifying is scheduled to take place at 15:00 CEST (14:00 BST).

Session results

1 30 Gabriele TARQUINI BRC Racing Team Hyundai i30 N TCR 8 1:20.260 0.000
2 99 Josh FILES Target Competition Honda Civic Type-R TCR 11 1:20.263 0.003
3 21 Giacomo ALTOÈ Target Competition Honda Civic Type-R TCR 11 1:20.393 0.133
4 8 Luca ENGSTLER Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 9 1:20.523 0.263
5 16 Luigi FERRARA V-Action Racing Team Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 16 1:20.529 0.269
6 39 Florian THOMA Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 10 1:20.779 0.519
7 44 Plamen KRALEV Kraf Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 5 1:20.870 0.610
8 88 Maxime POTTY WRT Racing Team Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 11 1:20.965 0.705
9 52 Givoanni ALTOÈ Giovanni Altoè Volkswagen Golf GTi DSG 11 1:21.144 0.884
10 11 Francisco ABREU Team NOVADRIVER Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 10 1:21.183 0.923
11 7 Aurélien COMTE DG Sport Compétition Peugeot 308 Racing Cup 17 1:21.222 0.962
12 10 Antti BURI LMS Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 1:21.443 1.183
13 5 Kevin GIACON Teconodom Opel Astra TCR 10 1:21.758 1.498
14 77 Denis GRIGORIEV Innocenti – AMG Motorsport SEAT León TCR DSG 8 1:22.222 1.962
15 53 Sandro PELATTI Sandro Pelatti Volkswagen Golf GTi DSG 16 1:22.237 1.977
16 15 Lev TOLKACHEV Innocenti – AMG Motorsport SEAT León TCR DSG 12 1:22.657 2.397
17 4 Olli KANGAS LMS Racing SEAT León TCR 14 1:22.666 2.406
18 54 Ermanno DIONISIO Ermanno Dionisio Audi RS3 LMS TCR DSG 11 1:22.852 2.592
19 76 Daniele CAPPELLARI Daniele Cappellari SEAT León TCR DSG 16 1:23.810 3.550
20 55 Giovanni BERTON Giovanni Berton Audi RS3 LMS TCR DSG 0 No Time  N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -