Colin Turkington beats Ash Sutton to Croft race two win

Colin Turkington beats Ash Sutton to Croft race two win

Colin Turkington
Photo: Network Images

BMW’s Colin Turkington held off Subaru’s Ash Sutton for victory in the second British Touring Car Championship race at Croft, as Rob Collard moved closer to the championship lead by completing the podium.

The win marks WSR’s 50th since moving to BMW machinery in time for the 2007, as well as being almost ten years to the day since WSR’s first win with the German manufacturer.

Turkington took the lead at the start of the race after getting a better start than race one winner Sutton, despite the Northern Irishman skipping the chicane further around the lap.

Sutton remained glued to the rear bumper of Turkington throughout the race but was unable to find a way past, with the final margin of victory being 2.4 seconds for the BMW driver.

Turkington’s win moves him to within 15 points of championship leader Gordon Shedden, who continued to minimise the damage to his lead by finishing in fourth, albeit almost fifteen seconds behind the winner.

BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan took fifth, withholding the advances of Subaru’s Jason Plato who took sixth and secured his best result of the season.

Motorbase’s Mat Jackson was seventh, having lost out to two-time champion Plato on lap seven.

Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin took another top ten finish in eighth, with AmD Tuning’s Ollie Jackson and Motorbase’s Martin Depper completing the top ten.

The reverse grid draw will see the top nine reversed and AmD’s Jackson start the final race of the day from the front of the grid.

Tom Ingram was the leading championship challenger to suffer in the race, with MG’s Josh Cook tagging the rear of the Speedworks Toyota on the opening lap and breaking the suspension on Ingram’s car. The move earned Cook a stop-and-go penalty, meaning he could only salvage 23rd.

Power Maxed Racing’s Tom Chilton retired on the opening lap after pulling off on the exit of the chicane with a loss of power, whilst Team Parker’s Stephen Jelley went off into the farmer’s field on the exit of Tower Bend.

The final race of the day is scheduled for 17:01 BST.

Race result

14MColin TURKINGTONTeam BMWBMW 125i M Sport1521:48.7501:25.5712
2116MAshley SUTTONAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT152.4451:25.6411
35MRob COLLARDTeam BMWBMW 125i M Sport152.8901:25.8794
452MGordon SHEDDENHalfords Yuasa RacingHonda Civic Type R1514.9541:26.1265
577MAndrew JORDANBMW Pirtek RacingBMW 125i M Sport1517.8641:26.1956
699MJason PLATOAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT1518.0291:25.92210
73Mat JACKSONTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord Focus1521.3101:27.0603
811Rob AUSTINHandy MotorsportToyota Avensis1522.5231:26.56911
948Ollie with CobraExhaustsAudi S31523.9201:26.67313
1030Martin DEPPERTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord Focus1524.2651:26.49918
1110Ant with CobraExhaustsAudi S31531.8601:27.83816
1212Mike EPPSAutoaid / RCIB Insurance RacingVolkswagen CC1532.5541:27.40522
1318MSenna PROCTORPower Maxed RacingVauxhall Astra1533.9901:26.73314
1416Aiden MOFFATLaser Tools RacingMercedes-Benz A-Class1534.2201:27.51023
1533Adam MORGANCiceley MotorsportMercedes-Benz A-Class1534.2411:27.27826
1620MJames COLEAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT1535.9871:26.71825
17303MMatt SIMPSONSimpson RacingHonda Civic Type R1543.8021:27.51028
1825MMatt NEALHalfords Yuasa RacingHonda Civic Type R1544.0321:27.32529
1917David NEWSHAMBTC Norlin RacingChevrolet Cruze1544.3671:27.45624
2022Chris SMILEYBTC Norlin RacingChevrolet Cruze1545.0461:27.42720
2195Dennis STRANDBERGTeam Parker with Maximum MotorsportFord Focus1545.5531:27.51219
2231Jack GOFFEurotech RacingHonda Civic Type R1548.8991:27.52721
2366Josh COOKMG Racing RCIB InsuranceMG6GT151:12.1631:26.4237
2428MJosh PRICEBMR Racing AcademySubaru Levorg GT141 Lap1:26.75627
2524Jake HILLTAG RacingVolkswagen CC114 Laps1:26.68912
R61Will BURNSAutoaid / RCIB Insurance RacingVolkswagen CC69 Laps1:27.59317
R7Stephen JELLEYTeam Parker with Maximum MotorsportFord Focus411 Laps1:27.53315
R80Tom INGRAMSpeedworks MotorsportToyota Avensis114 LapsN/A8
R2MTom CHILTONPower Maxed RacingVauxhall Astra0N/A9
NS300Luke DAVENPORTTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord FocusDNSN/A30
NS55Jeff SMITHEurotech RacingHonda Civic Type RDNSN/A31

Complete race results