Ash Sutton holds off Colin Turkington for race one win

Ash Sutton holds off Colin Turkington for race one win

Ash Sutton
Photo: Network Images

Subaru’s Ash Sutton held off a race-long challenge from BMW’s Colin Turkington to take victory in the opening British Touring Car Championship race at Croft, with Motorbase’s Mat Jackson completing the podium.

Sutton claimed a lights-to-flag victory in the race at a cloudy and dry Croft, despite late-race pressure from the BMW of Turkington, who was just 0.671 seconds behind at the flag.

The Northern Irishman was glued to the rear bumper of Sutton in the closing laps of the race, but was unable to find a way past as Sutton put in a calculated defensive drive.

Jackson claimed his and Motorbase’s first podium finish of the season in third, providing small consolation for the team after team-mate Luke Davenport’s massive accident on Saturday.

BMW’s Rob Collard took fourth at the final corner of the final lap, passing Honda’s Gordon Shedden for the position on the run up to the finish line.

That left the fully-ballasted Scot to take fifth, minimising the damage to his points lead by second-placed Collard.

BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan finished in sixth, having started the race in 12th position. The 2013 champion made up steady ground during the race, in particular benefitting when the Subaru of Josh Price was involved in an incident at the hairpin on lap eleven.

Price had been running in fifth at the time, having passed Collard for the position a couple of laps earlier, when he was seemingly spun at the exit of the hairpin. His Subaru team-mate James Cole had nowhere to go and ran into Price, causing slight damage to both cars.

MG’s Josh Cook took the chequered flag in seventh, having lost four places on lap eight, ahead of Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram, who scored his first top ten finish since Thruxton.

Power Maxed Racing’s Tom Chilton and Subaru’s Jason Plato completed the top ten, the latter having put in a recovery drive after making a mistake at Sunny In on the opening lap, dropping him to 25th.

AmD Tuning’s Ollie Jackson had originally finished the race in 11th position but he was later given a post-race 10.4 second penalty for gaining an unfair advantage earlier in the race, dropping him to 13th position.

The second factory Honda of Matt Neal had a disastrous race, retiring on lap two with damage to the left-rear corner of his Civic.

Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan also retired from the race, stopping on lap ten with some front-end damage to his Mercedes.

Race two takes place at 14:44 BST.

Race result

1116MAshley SUTTONAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT1521:52.2601:27.6541
24MColin TURKINGTONTeam BMWBMW 125i M Sport150.6711:28.0372
33Mat JACKSONTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord Focus158.6531:29.4853
45MRob COLLARDTeam BMWBMW 125i M Sport1511.3071:29.06011
552MGordon SHEDDENHalfords Yuasa RacingHonda Civic Type R1511.8581:29.7664
677MAndrew JORDANBMW Pirtek RacingBMW 125i M Sport1512.9841:28.22912
766Josh COOKMG Racing RCIB InsuranceMG6GT1518.7641:29.6235
880Tom INGRAMSpeedworks MotorsportToyota Avensis1519.5851:29.71913
92MTom CHILTONPower Maxed RacingVauxhall Astra1519.9951:29.70010
1099MJason PLATOAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT1535.4081:30.1716
1111Rob AUSTINHandy MotorsportToyota Avensis1544.5631:30.36017
1224Jake HILLTAG RacingVolkswagen CC1545.9611:31.81216
1348Ollie JACKSON* with CobraExhaustsAudi S31546.1381:30.54219
1418MSenna PROCTORPower Maxed RacingVauxhall Astra1546.2651:31.72715
157Stephen JELLEYTeam Parker with Maximum MotorsportFord Focus1546.4251:31.52314
1610Ant with CobraExhaustsAudi S31547.5891:31.69524
1761Will BURNSAutoaid / RCIB Insurance RacingVolkswagen CC1549.7761:30.56618
1830Martin DEPPERTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord Focus1550.2971:30.95625
1995Dennis STRANDBERGTeam Parker with Maximum MotorsportFord Focus1551.4601:32.16722
2022Chris SMILEYBTC Norlin RacingChevrolet Cruze1551.6941:31.96627
2131Jack GOFFEurotech RacingHonda Civic Type R1553.7831:33.63026
2212Mike EPPSAutoaid / RCIB Insurance RacingVolkswagen CC1554.2171:33.68520
2316Aiden MOFFATLaser Tools RacingMercedes-Benz A-Class1556.7361:37.81529
2417David NEWSHAMBTC Norlin RacingChevrolet Cruze132 Laps1:30.36028
R20MJames COLEAdrian Flux Subaru RacingSubaru Levorg GT114 Laps1:35.8309
R33Adam MORGANCiceley MotorsportMercedes-Benz A-Class105 Laps1:30.02123
R28MJosh PRICEBMR Racing AcademySubaru Levorg GT105 Laps2:16.3748
R303MMatt SIMPSONSimpson RacingHonda Civic Type R510 Laps1:57.56721
R25MMatt NEALHalfords Yuasa RacingHonda Civic Type R213 Laps1:31.8437
NS300Luke DAVENPORTTeam Shredded Wheat Racing with DuoFord FocusDNS00.000
NS55Jeff SMITHEurotech RacingHonda Civic Type RDNS00.000
NS40MÁrón TAYLOR-SMITHMG Racing RCIB InsuranceMG6GTDNS00.000

Complete race results