New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

TCR Asia Series kicks off at Sepang with four brands represented

Audi RS3 LMS TCR AsiaThe TCR Asia Series season kicks off at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia this weekend, with ten cars from four different brands entered for the opening event.

Cars have been entered from six different teams for the season opening event, with four different models of TCR car represented on the grid.

Amongst the most interesting newcomers is the Audi RS3 LMS, which is making just its second competitive outing in a TCR championship.

- Advertisement -

The new car is being entered by the Phoenix Racing Asia outfit, with the RS3 of Jasper Thong being backed by Audi Hong Kong.

Elsewhere, Liqui Moly Team Engstler are once again presented on the starting grid, with a brace of Volkswagen Golf GTi cars entered for Thai racer Kantadhee Kusiri and Ecuadorian Macau resident Diego Moran.

Thai racer Tin Sritrai returns for a second crack of the TCR Asia whip in 2017, having missed out on a proper shot at the title in 2016 after being dogged by bad luck and mechanical gremlins.

Both Thai racers have already shown that they have genuine pace, with Kusiri outpacing Sritrai in first practice on Friday.

Elsewhere, the SEAT León TCR continues to be represented by Malaysian racer Douglas Khoo, whilst Elegant Racing Team have also entered a brace of the Spanish cars for Honk Kong duo Eric K and Alex Liu.

TouringCars.Net understands that an additional entry may appear before Saturday, and is currently being arranged.

2017 TCR Asia Series entry list

No. Driver Nat Team Car
2 Kantadhee Kusiri Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf GTi
5 Jasper Thong Wei Heen Audi Hong Kong Audi RS3 LMS TCR
8 Tong Siu Kau Phoenix Racing Asia Audi RS3 LMS TCR
9 Tin Sritrai Team Thailand Volkswagen Golf GTi
23 Abdul Kaathir Mohamed Mustaffa R Engineering Honda Civic TCR
32 Diego Moran Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf GTi
39 Lai Wee Sing R Engineering Honda Civic TCR
65 Douglas Khoo Kok Hui Viper Niza Racing SEAT León TCR
98 Eric K Elegant Racing Team SEAT León TCR
99 Alex Liu Lic Ka Elegant Racing Team SEAT León TCR
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -