New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Tom Ingram tops timesheets in second free practice

Tom Ingram set the quickest time in the second free practice session during this weekends Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship meeting at Thruxton, with the Speedworks Motorsport driver edging out practice one pace-setter Andrew Jordan by 0.503 seconds and a surprise Aiden Moffat in third.

Ingram, who has topped a practice session at each of the three meetings thus far this season, completed a total of 18 laps across the forty minute session, which was punctuated once with a red flag stoppage at half distance due to an incident for Chris Smiley, and set a best time of 1:16.542 around the 2.4 mile Hampshire venue, around four tenths of a second off the qualifying lap record.

Andrew Jordan continued his strong form and looks to be the man to beat heading into this afternoon’s qualifying session, available live on the ITV website from 16:00, however his Motorbase team-mate Mat Jackson looked out of position for the first time in several weekends and could only manage the tenth fastest time, over a second slower than Ingram.

- Advertisement -

Eurotech Racing continued their strong showing with another brace of top fifteen classifications, Jeff Smith again edging out series newcomer Daniel Lloyd in 9th and 12th respectively. The works Honda outfit, also running the Civic Type-R, allocated another session to developing a strong setup ahead of this afternoon and finished 18th and 20th, Shedden this time beating three-time champion Matt Neal, whilst Martin Depper and Matt Simpson clocked the 17th and 24th fastest times to round out the seven Honda models on the grid.

Adam Morgan recovered from a crash at Allards this morning to finish the session in sixth, though there were less impressive showings for Josh Cook, who dropped from 2nd this morning to 19th in the second session, whilst Rob Collard and Sam Tordoff also failed to break into the top ten despite having been solid top eight fixtures in practice one.

Silverline Subaru BMR Racing continued their development of the four brand-new Subaru Levorg models, with Colin Turkington once again using his rear-wheel drive expertise to lead the line for Warren Scott’s outfit in 13th, with double champion team-mate Jason Plato the next highest placed BMR machine in 21st.

Aron Smith and Rob Austin also staked their claim to a strong finish this afternoon, putting the 7th and 8th fastest times on the board as the former looks to continue his streak of podium finishes, and the latter looks to return to the rostrum for the first time in several rounds.

Qualifying gets underway this afternoon at 16:10, with Andrew Jordan seemingly the favorite so far to claim a first pole position in over a year, however he will surely face stern competition from the Team Dynamics duo once they show their hand in the tense, closely fought thirty minute qualifying session that awaits us this afternoon.

Session results

1 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 19 1:16.542 0.000
2 77 Andrew JORDAN Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 17 1:17.045 0.503
3 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 16 1:17.142 0.600
4 31 C Jack GOFF Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 14 1:17.167 0.625
5 116 M Ashley SUTTON MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 9 1:17.185 0.643
6 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 16 1:17.529 0.987
7 40 Árón SMITH BKR Volkswagen CC 16 1:17.626 1.084
8 11 Rob AUSTIN Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis 17 1:17.798 1.256
9 55 Jeff SMITH Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 18 1:17.834 1.292
10 7 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 16 1:17.857 1.315
11 53 Hunter ABBOTT Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 21 1:17.889 1.347
12 23 Daniel LLOYD Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 16 1:17.956 1.414
13 4 M Colin TURKINGTON Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 20 1:18.062 1.520
14 600 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 20 1:18.121 1.579
15 17 Dan WELCH Goodestone Racing Proton Persona 12 1:18.164 1.622
16 100 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 17 1:18.167 1.625
17 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 17 1:18.229 1.687
18 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 19 1:18.232 1.690
19 66 M Josh COOK MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 15 1:18.274 1.732
20 25 M Matt NEAL Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 18 1:18.352 1.810
21 99 M Jason PLATO Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 12 1:18.601 2.059
22 24 Jake HILL RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 16 1:18.655 2.113
23 84 Kelvin FLETCHER Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 20 1:18.751 2.209
24 303 Matt SIMPSON Speedworks Motorsport Honda Civic Type R 17 1:18.864 2.322
25 39 M Warren SCOTT Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 18 1:18.947 2.405
26 14 Alex MARTIN Dextra Racing with Team Parker Ford Focus 20 1:19.152 2.610
27 48 Ollie JACKSON AmD Tuning Audi S3 10 1:19.454 2.912
28 20 M James COLE Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 14 1:19.718 3.176
29 22 Chris SMILEY TLC Racing Toyota Avensis 7 1:19.754 3.212
30 95 Stewart LINES Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus 19 1:20.448 3.906
31 38 Mark HOWARD BKR Volkswagen CC 14 1:20.813 4.271
32 12 Mike EPPS RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 7 1:22.245 5.703

Complete session results.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -