New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Gordon Shedden wins after Ingram and Collard collide

Gordon Shedden has taken victory in the second round of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after Tom Ingram and Rob Collard clashed whilst debating first place in the early stages of the race. The defending champion led home team-mate Matt Neal and Aron Smith.

It was Tom Ingram who led the capacity 32-car grid away for the second time today after winning the first race of the day, and he once again maintained his lead into Paddock Hill bend, whilst a little further back Rob Collard made a storming start and surged through from 6th to 2nd by the first corner.

Collard nudged alongside Ingram on the inside into Paddock on lap two but the two made contact, and then again on the run up to Druids, with Collard spinning as a result. Whilst Ingram continued, Shedden was able to prise the lead away from the 22 year old heading through Clark curve and Matt Neal followed through shortly after as Ingram dropped back through the field with damage to the Toyota Avensis. Incidents for Smiley and Lines ensured the safety car was called out for the second time today.

- Advertisement -

Other drivers to profit from the start included Andrew Jordan, who moved up to 6th from his 11th placed grid slot, whilst Aron Smith continued his consistent day to move up to an incredible fourth in between the MG duo, though unlike race one it was Cook leading the line for Ian Harrison’s squad, rather than debutant Sutton. Jason Plato was able to make some initial progress in the Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT, moving up from 21st on the grid to 16th in the carnage.

Shedden continued to lead after the safety car restart, and further back Jordan and Sutton made contact into Clearways, putting the MG on the outside line and allowing both Jordan and his team-mate Mat Jackson to capitalise and relegate the reigning Clio champion to 7th. Alex Martin’s frustrating day continued as he made contact with Mark Howard and once again took a trip across the grass along Cooper Straight.

Whilst Shedden was getting away at the front, his team-mate Matt Neal came under increasing pressure from Aron Smith in the now BKR-run Volkswagen CC, just ahead of a clash between Jordan and Cook. Once more the 2013 champion made contact with the MG at Clearways, and once again Jackson followed his team-mate through to push the Jack Sears Trophy champion down the order.

The battle for tenth and that all important reverse grid draw slot began to hot up, with Jake Hill defending impressively from Sam Tordoff in a clearly faster BMW, with Jeff Smith looming ever closer behind in the Type R. The bottleneck effect created by this battle also served to help Plato pull his Subaru closer to the back of Dan Welch’s Proton as the field bunched up.

Mechanical woes hit Hill and he was forced to retire just past the half-distance mark in the race, though Colin Turkington’s meteoric rise through the field continued as he relieved team-mate Plato of 14th and set about continuing his charge towards the top ten.

Some fluid on the racing line at Graham Hill bend caused carnage, with Cook, Turkington, Depper, Martin, Howard, Welch and Mat Jackson all either going off at the corner or having a moment. Cook was the big loser in the incident and played no further role in the race. The incidents promoted Jeff Smith into the reverse grid positions, whilst Sutton and Goff fiercely debated 6th.

One man kept his head through the carnage, however, and Gordon Shedden took the win by 0.848 seconds from his team-mate, Matt Neal.

Race result

1 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 26 22:27.048 49.159 2
2 25 M Matt NEAL Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 26 0.848 49.231 3
3 40 Árón SMITH BKR Volkswagen CC 26 3.132 49.239 7
4 77 Andrew JORDAN Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 26 4.165 49.053 11
5 7 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 26 7.176 49.136 8
6 116 M Ashley SUTTON MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 26 8.647 49.398 4
7 31 C Jack GOFF Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 26 9.682 49.376 10
8 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 26 10.076 49.320 9
9 600 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 26 10.395 49.261 16
10 55 Jeff SMITH Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 26 10.588 49.300 14
11 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 26 11.829 49.489 12
12 17 Dan WELCH Goodestone Racing Proton Persona 26 17.276 49.596 15
13 99 M Jason PLATO Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT 26 18.462 49.172 21
14 11 Rob AUSTIN Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis 26 18.738 49.327 30
15 53 Hunter ABBOTT Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 26 19.036 49.202 28
16 100 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 26 20.873 49.355 6
17 12 Mike EPPS RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 26 21.303 49.500 20
18 303 Matt SIMPSON Speedworks Motorsport Honda Civic Type R 26 23.468 49.607 17
19 20 M James COLE Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT 26 23.84 49.581 25
20 4 M Colin TURKINGTON Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT 26 24.678 49.283 26
21 39 M Warren SCOTT Subaru Team BMR Subaru Levorg GT 26 29.454 49.697 32
22 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 26 30.44 49.621 19
23 48 Ollie JACKSON AmD Tuning Audi S3 26 30.865 49.430 29
24 14 Alex MARTIN Dextra Racing with Team Parker Ford Focus 26 35.224 49.461 31
25 84 Kelvin FLETCHER Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 26 37.381 49.541 27
26 57 M Andy NEATE Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 26 40.84 49.512 18
27 38 Mark HOWARD BKR Volkswagen CC 26 45.944 50.190 23
28 22 Chris SMILEY TLC Racing Toyota Avensis 24 2 Laps 49.867 24
R 66 M Josh COOK MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 22 4 Laps 49.433 5
R 24 Jake HILL RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 14 12 Laps 49.287 13
R 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 2 24 Laps 52.788 1
R 95 Stewart LINES Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus 2 24 Laps 52.601 22

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here