New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Mat Jackson doubles up in chaotic Brands race two

Motorbase’s Mat Jackson kept out of trouble to secure a second successive British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) victory at Brands Hatch, ahead of Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram and Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan.

The 34-year-old was able to take advantage of the battle between the pair behind him to take his fourth win of the season, despite carrying maximum success ballast following his earlier race one win.

The chaos unfolded behind Jackson, as Árón Smith lost out on places on the opening lap after battling with Dave Newsham and Adam Morgan, having started on the front row.

- Advertisement -

Dextra Racing’s Alex Martin rejoined in his Ford Focus in the latter stages, with Laser Tools Racing’s Aiden Moffatt making several trips to the pit lane with technical issues.

Later around the opening lap Eurotech’s Martin Depper lost the back end of his Honda Civic into Clearways, giving Rob Austin nowhere to go, with both cars retiring as a result after Austin ploughed into the side of the Civic.

Paras Racing’s Derek Palmer also ended up in the gravel on the same lap, leaving the front of his Infiniti looking worse for wear, especially after a failed tow rope kept the Safety Car out for longer than usual.

Power Maxed Racing’s Dave Newsham would take fourth place, despite having dropped multiple places down the order initially. He was ahead of MG Racing’s Jack Goff, with title contender Jason Plato from Team BMR sixth.

Points leader Gordon Shedden would eventually end up 20th after 18 laps, as the Scot would progressively drop down the order, reporting a lack of power during the race. He also went wide at Hawthorns on lap 14, losing several places as a result when running in the final points position at the time.

His Honda Yuasa Racing team mate Matt Neal would finish seventh, after battling hard with Árón Smith for a number of laps, before forcing his way past. The Irishman finished ahead of Andy Priaulx, who was the best placed of the BMWs in ninth, ahead of WSR team-mate Rob Collard.

Colin Turkington’s title defence came to an abrupt end on the penultimate lap, as the Ulsterman’s Volkswagen CC suffered a left front puncture, forcing him to pull to the side of the track.

There was also a retirement for Dan Welch, who pulled his Proton to the side of the track on lap ten with apparent mechanical problems.

The final race sees just 12 points between Shedden and Plato for the title, with the final race of the season starting at 17.09 local time.

Points scoring result

1 4 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 18 31:04.610 1:31.982 1
2 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 18 0.350 1:31.905 5
3 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 18 1.460 1:31.824 3
4 17 Dave NEWSHAM Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 18 2.904 1:32.028 4
5 31 M Jack GOFF MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 18 3.278 1:32.144 6
6 99 Jason PLATO Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 18 3.588 1:32.074 8
7 25 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 18 10.954 1:31.908 14
8 40 Árón SMITH Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 18 12.344 1:32.203 2
9 111 C Andy PRIAULX Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 18 12.849 1:32.355 7
10 6 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 18 13.100 1:32.285 15
11 77 M Andrew JORDAN MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 18 13.198 1:32.431 11
12 44 James COLE Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 18 13.675 1:32.449 18
13 7 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 18 14.003 1:32.301 12
14 55 Jeff SMITH Eurotech Racing Honda Civic 18 21.288 1:33.168 10
15 9 Alain MENU Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 18 21.415 1:32.642 28

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here