New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Mat Jackson controls first Silverstone race

Mat Jackson took a dominant win in the first British Touring Car Championship race at Silverstone, ahead of Triple Eight Racing’s Andrew Jordan and championship leader Gordon Shedden.

Motorbase driver Jackson led away from the start and was never challenged from behind as he cruised to victory by 2.138s ahead of Jordan, who had jumped Shedden on the second lap.

Despite losing that position, Shedden’s bid for a second BTCC crown was boosted by a late retirement for closest rival Jason Plato, who suffered a front-left tyre puncture on the penultimate lap and retired from the race.

- Advertisement -

Jackson left Shedden reeling off the line as the Honda driver was forced to defend from a fast-starting Sam Tordoff, who then dropped down the order after running wide onto the Wellington straight.

As Jackson raced clear in his Ford Focus, Jordan succeeded where Tordoff had failed a lap later as he snuck up the inside of Shedden through Becketts to snatch second.

And though Shedden, on harder tyres, came back towards the leading duo in the closing stages, the top three remained in formation as Jackson claimed a second win in as many race weekends – while also sealing pole position for the second race with a new lap record.

Dave Newsham just missed out on a podium in his Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze but nevertheless recorded his best finish of the season after a brusque move on Tordoff, who finished in tenth.

Colin Turkington was the best-placed of the Team BMR cars in sixth, just ahead of team-mate Aron Smith. A charging Rob Collard came home seventh in his West Surrey Racing BMW 125i, ahead of Matt Neal and Tom Ingram.

Race two gets underway at 14:32 BST.

Points scoring result

1 4 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 22 21:47.275 58.464 1
2 77 M Andrew JORDAN MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 22 2.138 58.587 4
3 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 22 2.325 58.601 2
4 17 Dave NEWSHAM Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 22 2.665 58.767 5
5 1 Colin TURKINGTON Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 22 2.848 58.742 6
6 40 Árón SMITH Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 22 3.095 58.563 8
7 6 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 22 4.099 58.624 12
8 25 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 22 4.355 58.713 11
9 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 22 4.597 58.839 7
10 7 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 22 8.014 58.627 3
11 101 Rob AUSTIN Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4 22 10.143 58.913 14
12 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 22 12.265 59.025 13
13 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic 22 13.312 59.046 21
14 66 Josh COOK Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 22 13.768 58.991 16
15 21 Mike BUSHELL AmD Ford Focus 22 15.184 58.890 15

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here