New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Andy Priaulx takes Silverstone race two win

Andy Priaulx claimed his second British Touring Car Championship victory of the season at Silverstone, ahead of the Triple Eight Racing MG of Jack Goff and Team BMR’s Aron Smith.

Priaulx took the lead when he passed early leader and polesitter Mat Jackson on the exit of Copse, the West Surrey Racing driver appearing to run some of the way off the track in the process of making the move.

Any thoughts of a protest became obsolete in the final third of the race though when Jackson was forced to pit with a front-left tyre puncture.

- Advertisement -

That allowed Priaulx to ease home to victory, securing his West Surrey Raxcing team’s seventh win of the 2015 campaign.

Jackson’s demise promoted Goff into second, but with Guernseyman Priaulx a second-and-a-half clear at the front the MG man was forced to settle for second, nevertheless claiming a third podium of the season.

Smith, meanwhile, hung onto Goff’s coattails but never had an opportunity to pass his rival, despite a nervous moment for Goff at Brooklands when he slid wide while pressuring Jackson.

Championship leader Gordon Shedden scored another strong result with fourth, ahead of team-mate Matt Neal and the second WSR BMW of Sam Tordoff.

They profited from a late issue for Andrew Jordan whose front-left tyre, like Jackson, gave way. That also promoted Jason Plato to seventh, the double champion producing a couple of inspired moves – including a pass around the outside of team-mate Colin Turkington at Brooklands – to advance from eleventh on the grid.

Turkington fended off Rob Collard and James Cole on the final lap. The latter claimed a maiden top ten finish with that effort, and will start race three from pole.

Race three starts at 17:17 BST.

Points scoring result

1 111 C Andy PRIAULX Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 22 21:48.624 58.850 3
2 31 M Jack GOFF MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 22 1.802 58.962 2
3 40 Árón SMITH Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 22 2.791 59.052 4
4 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 22 7.547 59.285 6
5 25 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 22 7.803 59.091 10
6 7 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 22 7.962 59.107 9
7 99 Jason PLATO Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 22 8.454 59.202 11
8 1 Colin TURKINGTON Team BMR RCIB Insurance Volkswagen CC 22 13.402 58.951 12
9 6 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 22 13.848 59.215 8
10 44 James COLE Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 22 14.109 59.020 7
11 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 22 15.616 58.844 20
12 66 Josh COOK Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 22 19.006 59.127 18
13 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 22 21.098 59.485 15
14 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 22 21.732 59.300 19
15 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic 22 23.476 59.295 21

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here