New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Gordon Shedden wins second Knockhill race

Gordon Shedden secured a third win of the British Touring Car Championship season with a commanding drive at Knockhill, ahead of Rob Collard and Mat Jackson.

Shedden passed polesitter Jackson on lap five with a late lunge at Clark, and despite a mid-race safety car eased away at the front to claim a famous home victory.

Motorbase driver Jackson held the lead off the start as he and Shedden created a slight gap back to Rob Austin in third, his Audi taking slightly longer to warm its tyres.

- Advertisement -

The pair were still clear at the front when Shedden made the decisive move, catching Jackson off guard from some distance back to snatch the lead.

From there, the Scotsman controlled the pace until the deployment of the safety car, after Stewart Lines had binned his Toyota Avensis in the gravel on the exit of the hairpin.

Austin had by this point closed up to Jackson, but despite drawing alongside the Ford Focus into Duffus Dip, was unable to make a pass stick.

The story was a similar one when the racing resumed on lap 16, as Austin found himself increasingly frustrated behind the prudent Jackson, with Collard drawing closer all the while behind.

And the pressure finally told on lap 19 as Austin ran wide on the exit of the chicane, allowing Collard, Jordan and eventually Priaulx through as he slipped back to sixth.

The focus remained on the battle for second in the closing laps however, and Collard did what Austin had been unable to do with two laps to go as he ducked past Jackson into the hairpin.

With Collard too far back to make an impact, Shedden cruised to the flag to win by 3.419s, with Collard – backing up his Race 1 victory with a fine second – clear of Jackson, who just held off Jordan.

Priaulx and Austin stayed fifth and sixth to the line, while Jason Plato was the only BMR driver to complete the race in seventh. Matt Neal was eighth ahead of Aiden Moffat, while tenth for Adam Morgan means the Ciceley Motorsport driver will start race three from pole.

Points scoring result

1 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 27 25:36.720 52.716 2
2 6 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 27 3.419 53.070 4
3 4 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 27 4.371 53.056 1
4 77 M Andrew JORDAN MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 27 4.946 53.158 5
5 111 C Andy PRIAULX Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 27 5.219 53.098 9
6 101 Rob AUSTIN Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4 27 5.831 52.848 3
7 99 Jason PLATO Team BMR Volkswagen CC 27 6.281 53.168 8
8 25 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 27 7.168 53.141 10
9 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 27 8.982 53.069 12
10 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 27 11.772 53.274 14
11 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic 27 12.257 53.237 15
12 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 27 12.457 52.834 25
13 17 Dave NEWSHAM Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 27 14.134 53.374 13
14 31 M Jack GOFF MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 27 14.560 53.203 28
15 66 Josh COOK Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 27 15.456 53.216 18

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here