New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jason Plato holds on for race two win

Jason Plato resisted West Surrey Racing’s Rob Collard to clinch a second win of the British Touring Car Championship season at Thruxton, with race one winner Gordon Shedden finishing in third.

Collard had jumped the Team BMR driver off the line, but Plato fought back with a decisive move at the chicane at the end of the second lap, before holding off the BMW man for the remainder of the race.

It was the second phase of the start where Collard made his mark, out-dragging Plato’s Volkswagen CC on the run through Allard. Adam Morgan, Andy Priaulx and Shedden went three-abreast off the line, with Priaulx sent into a half spin as he and Morgan collided as Shedden swept by.

- Advertisement -

Things got worse for Priaulx moments later as he was involved in an incident with Mark Lines and Warren Scott, while there was chaos throughout the order as Jeff Smith and Josh Cook were forced to pit after collecting advertising boards.

Plato had stayed with Collard at the start of the race and after stalking the BMW in the opening part of the lap, dived down the inside into the chicane to regain the lead.

Jason Plato won the second race of the day at Thruxton

And the pair remained in that order until the flag, with Plato holding off Collard despite the latter’s best efforts, with a winning margin of 0.442s flattering Plato.

Shedden had stayed with the lead duo at the start but dropped back midway through the race, with Jack Goff giving the Scotsman something to think about at the end of the race as he finished just shy of a second podium of the season.

Colin Turkington was fifth ahead of Sam Tordoff, with Andrew Jordan finishing in seventh. Morgan recovered after his contact at the start of the race to claim eighth and with start the reverse grid race from pole, while Rob Austin and Aiden Moffat completed the top ten.

Race three starts at 17:17 BST.

Points scoring result

1 99 Jason PLATO Team BMR Volkswagen CC 16 21:05.521 1:17.936 1
2 6 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 16 0.442 1:17.905 2
3 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 16 3.475 1:17.988 4
4 31 M Jack GOFF MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 16 4.022 1:17.980 10
5 1 Colin TURKINGTON Team BMR Volkswagen CC 16 6.962 1:17.963 12
6 7 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 16 10.385 1:17.960 14
7 77 M Andrew JORDAN MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 16 10.833 1:18.025 13
8 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 16 12.963 1:17.850 3
9 101 Rob AUSTIN Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4 16 13.755 1:18.228 15
10 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 16 14.339 1:18.079 18
11 40 Árón SMITH Team BMR Volkswagen CC 16 17.095 1:18.071 6
12 17 Dave NEWSHAM Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 16 18.046 1:17.909 25
13 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic 16 20.161 1:18.161 11
14 54 Hunter ABBOTT Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4 16 27.429 1:18.596 19
15 23 Kieran GALLAGHER RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 16 40.166 1:20.057 20

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here