New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jason Plato fastest again in second practice

Jason Plato was once again the fastest driver in the second British Touring Car Championship practice session at Donington Park, ahead of Gordon Shedden and Andrew Jordan.

Plato set his fastest time – a 1:09.553s – early on in the 40-minute session, with a late lap from Shedden edging him to within half a second of the Team BMR driver.

After Sam Tordoff had again set the early benchmark times, Plato set a trio of fastest times that culminated in his fastest lap, which at the time was nearly a second faster than anyone had managed.

- Advertisement -

That gap gradually narrowed, however, with first team-mate Colin Turkington chasing down the double-champion, before Aron Smith briefly made it a BMR 1-2-3 with an effort of 1:10.234s.

Two late improvements from Jordan then moved him into second, but Shedden’s effort of 1:09.984s made him the only man aside from Plato to crack the 1:10s barrier as he eclipsed the MG for a second session in a row.

With Turkington in fourth, fifth place for Smith meant that the top five from first practice was replicated in the second session. Mike Bushell had an impressive run to sixth in his Ford Focus, ahead of Aiden Moffat – who continued to show good form – Tom Ingram and Adam Morgan.

Joint championship leaders Matt Neal and Jack Goff completed the top ten, although it was another difficult session for the latter – having earlier been handed a two-point licence penalty for a clash in FP1 – who ran wide while on a faster lap late on, before coming to a halt before the pit entry after the chequered flag.

The West Surrey Racing BMWs endured another testing session, and were best represented by Sam Tordoff in 14th.

Aside from a brief stoppage to recover the stricken Toyota Avensis of Stewart Lines, the session ran smoothly, with only Hunter Abbott unable to set a time after his incident with Goff, as Dan Welch racked up his first laps of the season.

Top ten times

1 99 Jason PLATO Team BMR Volkswagen CC 19 1:09.553 0.000
2 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 17 1:09.984 0.431
3 77 M Andrew JORDAN MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 18 1:10.134 0.581
4 1 Colin TURKINGTON Team BMR Volkswagen CC 18 1:10.147 0.594
5 40 Árón SMITH Team BMR Volkswagen CC 22 1:10.234 0.681
6 21 Mike BUSHELL AmD Ford Focus 19 1:10.542 0.989
7 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 18 1:10.608 1.055
8 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 23 1:10.665 1.112
9 25 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 18 1:10.693 1.140
10 31 M Jack GOFF MG 888 Racing MG 6GT 21 1:10.734 1.181
11 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class 19 1:10.805 1.252
12 17 Dave NEWSHAM Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 20 1:10.827 1.274
13 101 Rob AUSTIN Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4 20 1:10.862 1.309
14 7 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 20 1:10.888 1.335
15 39 Warren SCOTT Team BMR Volkswagen CC 21 1:10.970 1.417

Complete session results.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here