New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Andrea Belicchi wins race two in Shanghai

Target Competition’s Andrea Belicchi scored his first TCR International Series win in race two in Shanghai, finishing ahead of team-mate Stefano Comini and WestCoast Racing’s Gianni Morbidelli.

The race was not a straightforward affair, with Comini getting the jump on pole man Belicchi at the start of the race. Later, on lap six, Morbidelli, who had started from tenth position in the reverse-grid race, took the lead from Comini, having passed Belicchi a lap earlier.

Morbidelli looked on course to complete a perfect weekend for the Honda Civic cars when on lap eight his engine briefly switched off, dropping him to fourth and gifting Belicchi a lead that he would not lose, ahead of Comini.

- Advertisement -

Not giving up, Morbidelli eventually worked his way back up to second, before Comini retook the position once and for all at the penultimate corner on the last lap, leaving Morbidelli to settle for the final podium position.

Craft-Bamboo Racing’s Pepe Oriola finished in fourth, ahead of the third Target SEAT of Michel Nykjær in fifth, with the Dane scoring his best result of the season so far.

Kevin Gleason brought his WestCoast Racing Honda home in sixth, ahead of Liqui Moly Team Engstler’s Franz Engstler in seventh.

Eighth-placed Lorenzo Veglia, in Engstler Motorsport’s sole SEAT, was later elected man of the race for close battles with Gleason and Craft-Bamboo’s Sergey Afanasyev, who finished in 11th.

One-off guest racer Tengyi Jiang finished in ninth for Target Competition, with Craft-Bamboo’s Jordi Gené completing the top ten.

The results mean Gianni Morbidelli leaves China as the championship leader on 72 points, two points ahead of Stefano Comini and 13 points ahead of Andrea Belicchi.

The next TCR event takes place at Valencia on the 2nd and 3rd May.

Top ten result

1 33 Andrea BELICCHI Target Competition SEAT León Racer 10 23:19.292 2:18.502 1
2 25 Stefano COMINI Target Competition SEAT León Racer 10 1.252 2:18.476 3
3 10 Gianni MORBIDELLI West Coast Racing Honda Civic TCR 10 1.500 2:17.553 10
4 74 Pepe ORIOLA Team Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL SEAT León Racer 10 3.821 2:18.379 6
5 17 Michel NYKJÆR Target Competition SEAT León Racer 10 4.351 2:18.595 2
6 24 Kevin GLEASON West Coast Racing Honda Civic TCR 10 6.419 2:18.130 8
7 6 Franz ENGSTLER Liqui Moly Team Engstler Audi Sport TT Cup 10 6.544 2:18.402 4
8 7 Lorenzo VEGLIA Liqui Moly Team Engstler SEAT León Racer 10 9.684 2:18.777 12
9 5 Tengyi JIANG Target Competition SEAT León Racer 10 10.695 2:19.100 11
10 88 Jordi GENÉ Team Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL SEAT León Racer 10 13.595 2:19.023 14

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here