New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

BTCC 2015 Entry List revealed with 32 cars

2015 BTCC GridA record 32-car entry list has been revealed for the 2015 British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) season, along with a number of changes to the sporting regulations for the forthcoming season.

At the official BTCC media day at Donington Park on Tuesday, Series Director Alan Gow confirmed a diverse grid at capacity for the second fully NGTC (Next-Generation Touring Car) season.

“The BTCC is renowned for its extreme competitiveness, and the levels of unpredictability seem set to reach new standards in 2015,”said Gow. “There have been several key and very interesting moves in the driver market over the winter, which ensures we’re in for yet another unmissable campaign. Your guess is as good as mine when it comes to predicting an eventual champion but what is for sure is that we’re in for another titanic battle – I, just like our millions of fans, can’t wait to get started.

- Advertisement -

“The levels of success do not come easily of course and it is testament to the tireless work from everyone involved in the series that we’re able to again announce such a great grid for 2015.

“Our impressive entry list continues to demonstrate the stability of our regulations whilst the new tweaks made to our format also show we’re always committed to moving forever forwards. Improving the show for our fans and competitors alike is paramount to everything we do here in the BTCC and we believe these evolutions will prove successful.

“The longevity and loyalty of our major partnerships, including Dunlop, ITV, Intercontinental Hotels Group and more, far exceed industry standards and their support is hugely valued.

“The trackside and TV audiences continue to reach new highs proving exactly why the BTCC is Britain’s only show in town – here’s to another hugely competitive and successful season ahead.”

As well as revealing the entry list for the season ahead, Gow confirmed a number of changes to the sporting regulations, some of which had already been revealed during the winter months. They include:

  • The awarding of the Jack Sears’ Trophy to the best rookie driver in 2015, with nine drivers eligible;
  • An increase in the amount of success ballast given to the top drivers, with ballast now awarded down to tenth position. The weight given to the top ten drivers, in descending order, will be: 75 kg, 66 kg, 57 kg, 48 kg, 39 kg, 33 kg, 27 kg, 21 kg, 15 kg, 9 kg;
  • Rear-wheel drive cars will have their success ballast applied as far forward in the cabin as possible in order to better equalise the front-to-rear weight balance between RWD and FWD drivetrain layouts;
  • Cosworth and Xtrac have independently analysed the start-line performances of the two types of drivetrain, equalising the performances through engine management programming;
  • Engines have been re-tested and re-validated by TOCA and an independent specialist company, with boost levels being set for each car / engine type for the entire season. One review per season is permitted, although race-by-race adjustments will no longer take place;
  • Each car must use the Dunlop Sport Maxx soft tyre at least three times in race one, three times in race two and three times in race three, with the exception of Thruxton where a special tyre is used.
  • The grid for race two will be set in the order of fastest lap times for classified finishers from race one. Lap times after tyre changes during the race will not be counted.

2015 BTCC Entry List

Number Driver Nationality Team Car
1 Colin Turkington Team BMR Volkswagen CC
6 Rob Collard Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport
7 Sam Tordoff Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport
11 Simon Belcher Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis
12 Andy Wilmot Welch Motorsport Proton Gen-2
13 Dan Welch Welch Motorsport Proton Gen-2
14 Alex Martin Dextra Racing Ford Focus
16 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class
17 Dave Newsham Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze
21 Mike Bushell AmD Ford Focus
22 Derek Palmer Jr Infiniti Support Our Paras Racing Infiniti Q50
23 Kieran Gallagher RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis
25 Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R
28 Nicolas Hamilton AmD Audi S3
30 Martin Depper Eurotech Racing Honda Civic
31 Jack Goff MG 888 Racing MG 6GT
33 Adam Morgan WIX Racing Mercedes Benz A-Class
39 Warren Scott Team BMR Volkswagen CC
40 Aron Smith Team BMR Volkswagen CC
52 Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R
54 Hunter Abbott Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4
55 Jeff Smith Eurotech Racing Honda Civic
66 Josh Cook Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze
77 Andrew Jordan MG 888 Racing MG 6GT
80 Tom Ingram Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
84 Richard Hawken Infiniti Support Our Paras Racing Infiniti Q50
95 Stewart Lines Houseman Racing Toyota Avensis
99 Jason Plato Team BMR Volkswagen CC
101 Rob Austin Exocet AlcoSense Audi A4
111 Andy Priaulx Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport
4 Mat Jackson Motorbase Performance Ford Focus
44 James Cole Motorbase Performance Ford Focus
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here