New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

WTCC reinstates Independent prize money

Photo by FIA WTCC MediaOrganisers of the World Touring Car Championship, Eurosport Events, have announced plans to reinstate prize money to teams running top category TC1 cars in the independent Yokohama Trophy for the 2015 season.

As a result of the switch to TC1 regulations in 2014 the Yokohama Trophy has been reserved for teams running TC2 cars this year, with only three regular full-season entries from Engstler Motorsport and Campos Racing.

For 2015 the Trophy will once again be awarded to independent teams running top-level machinery, with drivers deemed to be independent fighting it out for €240,000 of prize money.

- Advertisement -

The team who run the 2015 Yokohama Trophy winner will also be granted a free full-season entry into the 2016 championship.

The €240,000 of prize money will be allocated, based on points scored over a weekend by an eligible driver, at each event as follows:

  • 1st in class: €8,000;
  • 2nd in class: €6,000;
  • 3rd in class: €3,000;
  • 4th in class: €2,000;
  • 5th in class: €1,000.

Commenting on the announcement, Eurosport Events COO François Ribeiro said: “After a transition season in 2014 with a mix of TC1 and TC2 Turbo cars, we will reallocate our resources to support private TC1 teams next year, by offering them a prize money, dedicated classifications, podiums and promotion, as Eurosport Events has successfully done since 2006 with Yokohama.”

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here