New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Müller on top in second Moscow practice

Photo by ITR e.V.Audi’s Nico Müller ended the second Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters practice session at the Moscow Raceway as the fastest driver, ahead of stable-mates Mike Rockenfeller and Mattias Ekström.

Team Rosberg’s Müller ended the session just 0.084 seconds faster than Phoenix Racing’s Rockenfeller, who had been on top of the times for much of the second half of the hour. Swiss racer Müller’s improvement came with ten minutes remaining in the session.

Ekström was again in the top three, posting the third fastest time to ensure Audi remained at the sharp end of the timesheets.

- Advertisement -

BMW Team RMG’s Maxime Martin was the top driver for the Munich manufacturer, having earlier been the first driver to top the times. MTEK BMW driver Timo Glock was fifth fastest.

Abt Sportsline’s Miguel Molina was sixth fastest in his Audi, ahead of BMW duo Marco Wittmann and Bruno Spengler. The Canadian had been outside the top ten for most of the session, but improved with two minutes to go.

Mercedes’ Gary Paffett and Daniel Juncadella completed the top ten and were the last drivers within half a second of the pace. For Brit Paffett in particular it marked a notable improvement on first practice, where he was 22nd and 1.6 seconds off the pace.

The session was largely incident free, save for a final corner spin from 20thplaced Martin Tomczyk in the final three minutes.

Local driver Vitaly Petrov could only manage the 22nd and slowest time, with his difficult session being compounded when he stopped on-track in the final minute.

António Félix da Costa failed to take to the circuit at all in second practice, with the Portugese driver suffering from mechanical problems with his BMW.

Qualifying takes place at 18:40 MST (16:40 CEST, 15:40 BST).

Top ten times

1 22 Nico MÜLLER Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 23 1:28.993
2 1 Mike ROCKENFELLER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 25 1:29.077 0.084
3 7 Mattias EKSTRÖM Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 26 1:29.112 0.119
4 24 Maxime MARTIN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 23 1:29.121 0.128
5 17 Timo GLOCK BMW Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM 26 1:29.125 0.132
6 8 Miguel MOLINA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 23 1:29.203 0.210
7 23 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 23 1:29.332 0.339
8 9 Bruno SPENGLER BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M4 DTM 23 1:29.345 0.352
9 11 Gary PAFFETT EURONICS AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 19 1:29.420 0.427
10 19 Daniel JUNCADELLA Petronas AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 22 1:29.467 0.474

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here