New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Wittmann scores comfortable Hungary win

Photo by BMW AGBMW’s Marco Wittmann scored his second win of the season at the Hungaroring to move into the lead of the championship in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters, finishing ahead of Audi’s Miguel Molina and BMW’s Bruno Spengler.

Wittmann dominated the race from pole position, opening up a comfortable lead over the rest of the chasing pack before the first round of pitstops. Later in the race the German was able to maintain an advantage of four seconds to take his second win of the season to move into the lead of the championship.

Molina took the chequered flag in second, having passed Timo Glock for second on lap 19 into the first corner. The Spaniard thereafter simply didn’t have the pace to threaten Wittmann for the lead. For Molina it is the best result he has taken in the DTM in five season of racing in the series.

- Advertisement -

Bruno Spengler charged through the field on the softer option tyres in the closing laps to take third, the Schnitzer BMW driver’s best result of the season so far. Spengler was seventh with just five laps to go, but used his strategy to take a last-gasp podium finish.

Edoardo Mortara finished in fourth, having spent much of the race battling hard with BMW’s Glock. The duo made contact on lap 22, with the Italian forced to concede the position to Glock. However Mortara repassed just one lap later and remained in front until the finish.

Glock himself dropped down the order in the final couple of laps, first making contact whilst defending from fifth-placed finisher Adrien Tambay. The MTEK BMW driver then made contact with Audi’s Nico Müller on the final lap, spinning the Swiss driver down to 12th and leaving Glock with a front-left puncture, causing him to finish in 19th and last position.

Jamie Green finished a surprise seventh, despite having run outside the top ten for the majority of the race. António Félix da Costa took eighth, having also dropped down the order in the closing laps of the race.

Audi’s Mattias Ekström and Mike Rockenfeller completed the top ten, with the Swede benefitting from last lap incidents to take home a couple of points.

Mercedes’ Robert Wickens just missed out on the points in 11th, meaning that no drivers for the three-pointed star finished inside the top ten for the second time in 2014 and only the second occasion in DTM history.

Gary Paffett was an early retirement from the race, having been contacted by Joey Hand at turn two on the opening lap. Timo Scheider retired after ten laps with left-rear damage. BMW’s Augusto Farfus and Mercedes’ Christian Vietoris both retired from the race whilst running in last position at the time.

Top ten result

1 23 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 41 1:08:35.291 1:38.105 1
2 8 Miguel MOLINA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 41 6.615 1:28.241 3
3 9 Bruno SPENGLER BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M4 DTM 41 21.842 1:38.005 9
4 15 Edoardo MORTARA Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS5 DTM 41 29.96 1:38.296 12
5 16 Adrien TAMBAY Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS5 DTM 41 30.112 1:38.070 7
6 24 Maxime MARTIN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 41 30.357 1:38.102 4
7 21 Jamie GREEN Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 41 34.403 1:38.058 10
8 18 António Félix da COSTA BMW Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM 41 34.56 1:38.433 5
9 7 Mattias EKSTRÖM Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 41 34.826 1:38.334 11
10 1 Mike ROCKENFELLER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 41 36.017 1:38.643 13

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here