New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Wittmann scores Hungaroring pole

Photo by BMW AGBMW’s Marco Wittmann took his second pole position of the season in qualifying for the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters at the Hungaroring, with fellow BMW driver Timo Glock joining him on the front row.

Wittmann left it until the final two minutes of the session to post the fastest time, having earlier topped both Q1 and Q2. The German was on fine form at the Hungaroring to secure his third pole position since joining the DTM at the start of 2013.

Glock improved his time to go second fastest in the closing seconds of the session, demoting Audi’s top driver Miguel Molina to the second row of the grid in third. The Spaniard continued to show strong pace, having earlier topped the free practice session.

- Advertisement -

BMW Team RMG’s Maxime Martin was a career-best fourth in only his third DTM event, having been fastest early on in Q3.

António Félix da Costa was fifth fastest for BMW Team MTEK, ensuring he continued his 100% success rate of getting through to Q3. BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus was sixth – the Brazilians best qualifying result of the season so far.

Audi’s Adrien Tambay and Nico Müller were seventh and eighth for  Team Abt and Team Rosberg respectively as the final drivers who made it into Q3.

BMW Team Schnitzer’s Bruno Spengler was ninth – missing out on entry into Q3 for the first time this season by just 0.030 seconds. Joining him on the fifth row of the grid in tenth is Audi Sport Team Rosberg’s Jamie Green.

Notably, none of the DTM’s seven former champions made it into Q3, with Spengler being the top driver in ninth. Mattias Ekström was 11th, reigning champion and current series leader Mike Rockenfeller was 13th, Timo Scheider was 15th and Martin Tomczyk was the slowest of the drivers in Q2 in 18th.

Only two Mercedes-Benz drivers made it into Q2, but neither were former champions. Pascal Wehrlein was the best-placed driver for the three-pointed star for the second consecutive meeting. Former champions Paul di Resta and Gary Paffett could only manage 19th and 21st respectively, more than a second off the pace.

Round 3 of the DTM takes place at 13:33 CEST on Sunday (12:33 BST).

Top ten times

1 23 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 6 1:36.518 0.000
2 17 Timo GLOCK BMW Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM 4 1:36.731 0.213
3 8 Miguel MOLINA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 6 1:36.757 0.239
4 24 Maxime MARTIN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 4 1:36.777 0.259
5 18 António Félix da COSTA BMW Team MTEK BMW M4 DTM 7 1:36.896 0.378
6 3 Augusto FARFUS BMW Team RBM BMW M4 DTM 7 1:37.061 0.543
7 16 Adrien TAMBAY Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS5 DTM 5 1:37.134 0.616
8 22 Nico MÜLLER Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 5 1:37.174 0.656
The below times are from Q2:
9 9 Bruno SPENGLER BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M4 DTM 8 1:37.257 0.611
10 21 Jamie GREEN Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS5 DTM 7 1:37.259 0.613

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here