New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Yvan Muller scores comfortable Hungary win

Yvan Muller took his second World Touring Car Championship win of the year with a comfortable victory in race one at the Hungaroring, with team-mate José María López finishing in second.

Muller led the race from start to finish, managing a comfortable two-second gap over his Citroën team-mate, with López 1.282 seconds behind at the chequered flag.

Honda’s Tiago Monteiro scored his second successive podium finish in third, heading up a quartet of Honda drivers. Team-mate Gabriele Tarquini finished in fourth, ahead of the independent Proteam Racing entry of Mehdi Bennani and Zengő Motorsport local Norbert Michelisz.

- Advertisement -

Sébastien Loeb finished the race in seventh after a poor start saw the Frenchman drop from third on the grid to sixth before the first corner. Michelisz was able to pass Loeb later on around the lap and the former World Rally Champion was unable to find a way past thereafter around the tricky Hungaroring circuit.

ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel finished the race in eighth – exactly where he started – ahead of the recovering Gianni Morbidelli, who dropped as low as 15th on the opening lap.

Hugo Valente completed the top ten in his Campos Racing Chevrolet after a hard battle with the LADAs of Rob Huff and James Thompson. Valente passed Huff with a gentle push at turn two, taking his fifth consecutive points finish.

Thompson eventually finished down in 13th position, after losing three positions in the same lap on lap eight. As Huff passed heading into turn one, an out of position Thompson then lost out to Valente and Dušan Borković in successive corners.

Tom Chilton finished the race down in 14th after being forced to pit to have his bonnet secured, which may have been as a result of contact with Coronel whilst challenging for eighth early on in the race.

In TC2 Pasquale di Sabatino took his first victory of the season, having passed team-mate Franz Engstler into turn one with three laps to go.

Round six takes place at 14:30 CEST (13:30 BST) after a short repair window.

Top ten result

1 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 14 14 LAPS 1:50.119 1
2 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 14 1.282 1:50.431 2
3 18 TC1 Tiago MONTEIRO Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 14 8.961 1:50.691 15
4 2 TC1 Gabriele TARQUINI Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 14 13.98 1:50.972 5
5 25 TC1 Mehdi BENNANI Proteam Racing Honda Civic WTCC 14 14.747 1:51.062 6
6 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 14 16.672 1:51.182 11
7 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 14 17.475 1:51.099 3
8 4 TC1 Tom CORONEL ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 14 22.863 1:51.735 8
9 10 TC1 Gianni MORBIDELLI ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 14 27.891 1:52.124 9
10 7 TC1 Hugo VALENTE Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 14 36.287 1:52.226 10

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here