New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Yvan Muller fastest in second Hungarian practice

Yvan Muller was fastest in the second World Touring Car Championship free practice session in Hungary posting the fastest lap time in the closing minutes to pip his Citroën team-mates.

Muller spent much of the session in the middle of the top ten before bolting on a set of fresh rubber to post the fastest time, 0.373 seconds faster than team-mate Sébastien Loeb and quicker than the early morning practice pace.

Championship leader José María López was a further four tenths back, as Citroën cars locked out the top three positions despite carrying 60 kg of compensation weight.

- Advertisement -

Mehdi Bennani was the top Honda driver in fourth, with the Proteam driver having topped the times before the Citroëns, perhaps inevitably, made their way to the top.

Similarly to Bennani, Norbert Michelisz also enjoyed a spell at the top of the time sheets, with the Hungarian the quickest half-way through the session. He eventually finished the session in fifth, just over a second off the pace.

Tom Chilton was again the top Chevrolet driver in sixth, ahead of the first works’ Honda of Tiago Monteiro.

ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel made it into the top ten for the first time this weekend in eighth, ahead of the Honda of Gabriele Tarquini and the top Campos Chevrolet of Dušan Borković, who was the last driver within two seconds off the pace.

As has previously been the case in 2014, Franz Engstler topped the TC2 times, which are more than six seconds off the TC1 pace, in 17th.

Qualifying takes place at 14:30 CEST (13:30 BST).

Top ten times

1 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 11 1:49.301 0.000
2 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 10 1:49.674 0.373
3 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 12 1:50.053 0.752
4 25 TC1 Mehdi BENNANI Proteam Racing Honda Civic WTCC 14 1:50.281 0.980
5 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 11 1:50.344 1.043
6 3 TC1 Tom CHILTON ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 12 1:50.720 1.419
7 18 TC1 Tiago MONTEIRO Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 13 1:50.836 1.535
8 4 TC1 Tom CORONEL ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 12 1:51.165 1.864
9 2 TC1 Gabriele TARQUINI Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 12 1:51.228 1.927
10 98 TC1 Dušan BORKOVIĆ NIS Petrol by Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 11 1:51.253 1.952

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here