New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Gow delighted with record BTCC grid

Photo by BTCC MediaBritish Touring Car Championship Series Director Alan Gow says that the 31-car entry list for the 2014 season is a “clear demonstration of the success of the championship” after a record grid was revealed at the annual media day event.

31 drivers will take to the grid in the 2014 BTCC – a record for the single-class era of the championship. In addition, for the first time since 1999 all drivers and teams will be competing using machinery built to a single set of technical regulations.

“Our huge entry list is a clear demonstration of the success of the championship and the NGTC regulations,” said Gow. “31 cars on the grid is a modern-day BTCC record and the quality of the field, including seven champions, is also at a real high. That calibre of driver wouldn’t be here if they didn’t see that the championship is in rude health, but we also have to remember that many of those have the BTCC to thank for making them household names in the first place.

- Advertisement -

“The long-term value of the NGTC cars, as well as our new TBL system, is also proven,” added Gow. “Adam Morgan’s Mercedes for example is made up mainly of internal parts that came from his car last season, whilst Lea Wood will now be using the Toyota shell previously raced by Morgan. This car and its parts originated from one of the first NGTC machines used in 2011, which is testament to the way the rules have allowed some teams to join the championship that wouldn’t have been able to previously.

“Such has been the success in fact that from this point onwards the term ‘NGTC’ will no longer be a factor in the BTCC, because the next generation of touring cars are here now.

“I have no doubt that 2014 will prove to be one of the most exciting and competitive season’s in the illustrious history of the BTCC.”

The official announcement of the entry list means there are 14 models of car from 11 different manufacturers, with two official manufacturer teams entered (Honda and MG).

In addition, with stability in the regulations and a strong field of drivers and cars, BTCC organisers have made few changes to the format for 2014. Drivers will still have to nominate in which race they will use the mandatory ‘soft’ tyre on each race weekend, with series sponsors Dunlop now revealing which drivers are using the tyre via social media at 10:00 on race day mornings.

TouringCars.Net will bring further reaction to the media day and pre-season news over the course of the week.

Full 2014 BTCC Entry List

No. Driver Nat Entrant Car
1 Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
4 Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Tourer
5 Colin Turkington eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
6 Mat Jackson Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
7 Fabrizio Giovanardi Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
9 Alain Menu CHROME Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen Passat CC
10 Rob Collard eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
11 Simon Belcher Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis
12 Dan Welch STP Racing with Sopp & Sopp Proton Gen-2
16 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing Chevrolet Cruze
17 Dave Newsham AmD Ford Focus
18 Nick Foster eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
20 James Cole United Autosports Toyota Avensis
21 Glynn Geddie United Autosports Toyota Avensis
28 Chris Stockton Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze
30 Martin Depper Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
31 Jack Goff RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia
33 Adam Morgan WIX Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class
39 Warren Scott CHROME Edition Restart Racing Vauxhall Insignia
40 Árón Smith CHROME Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen Passat CC
43 Lea Wood Houseman Racing Toyota Avensis
44 Jack Clarke Crabbie’s Racing Ford Focus
48 Ollie Jackson STP Racing with Sopp & Sopp Proton Gen-2
52 Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Tourer
54 Hunter Abbott AlcoSense Breathalysers Racing Audi A4
67 Robb Holland Rotek Racing Audi S3 Saloon
80 Tom Ingram Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
88 Sam Tordoff MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6
99 Jason Plato MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6
101 Rob Austin Exocet Racing Audi A4
888 Marc Hynes Quantel Bifold Racing MG6
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here