New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Spengler on pole position at Hockenheim

Photo by BMW AGBMW Team Schnitzer locked out the front row of the grid in qualifying for the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters at the Hockenheimring, as Bruno Spengler and Dirk Werner finished the season on a high.

Click here for the full Round 10 Qualifying result.

Spengler’s first pole since the Red Bull Ring in June was his second of the season, and came as the Canadian tries to secure third in the championship.

- Advertisement -

For Werner it marks the German’s best-ever qualifying result in the DTM and the first Schnitzer 1-2 in qualifying since BMW returned to the series at the start of 2012.

Third on the grid will be BMW Team RMG’s Andy Priaulx, with the Brit scoring his best-ever qualifying result in the DTM. It was also Priaulx’s first visit to Q4.

Timo Glock will start the final race of the season froum fourth after his qualifying time in Q4 was disallowed for exceeding the track limits. The German had previously set the third fastest time, 0.417 seconds off pole. Nevertheless it will be the former Formula 1 driver’s best starting position in the DTM to-date.

Audi Sport Team Phoenix’s Miguel Molina was fifth fastest, missing out on entry into the final stage of qualifying by just 0.009 seconds. It is the fifth time in 2013 that the Spaniard has qualified inside the top ten.

Marco Wittmann was sixth fastest for BMW Team MTEK, ahead of the Audi trio of Mattias Ekström, Adrien Tambay and new champion Mike Rockenfeller.

Augusto Farfus completed the top ten for BMW Team RBM.

Just missing out on the top ten, and entry into Q3, were former champions Martin Tomczyk and Timo Scheider, who will start 11th and 12th for BMW and Audi respectively.

It once again proved to be a challenging qualifying session for Mercedes-Benz, with 13th-placed Robert Wickens the highest representative for the marque.

American Joey Hand endured his worst qualifying session since joining the DTM in 2012 and will start from 22nd and last. BMW Team RBM’s Hand was the only BMW driver not to qualify inside the top eleven.

The final DTM race of the season takes place at 12:30 BST (13:30 CEST) on Sunday and will be broadcast LIVE at TouringCars.Net.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here