Muller on top in Friday testing

Muller on top in Friday testing

Photo by FIA WTCC Media

Photo by FIA WTCC MediaRML’s Yvan Muller was the fastest driver in Friday testing for the World Touring Car Championship at the Moscow Raceway, beating ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel by 0.158 seconds.

Click here for the full Friday testing times.

The 30-minute test session took place on a drying track following early morning rain. With no WTCC drivers having any experience of the new russian circuit, which only opened in 2012, the session saw the entire field trying to collect as much data as possible.

Muller ended the session fastest, with Coronel putting in a late lap to go second. Honda’s Gabriele Tarquini was third, with the Italian having topped the times at the halfway stage of the session, before dropping down the order as the times tumbled, before setting his fastest lap at the end of the session.

Proteam Racing’s Mehdi Bennani was an impressive fourth fastest, ahead of regining champion Rob Huff, who was the fastest SEAT driver for Münnich Motorsport.

Darryl O’Young ensured the BMW’s got off to a strong start to the weekend in sixth, whilst Honda’s Tiago Monteiro (7th), Tuenti’s Pepe Oriola (8th), LADA’s James Thompson (9th) and bamboo’s James Nash (10th) completed the top ten.

Free Practice 1 on Saturday takes place at 09:30 MSK (06:30 BST, 07:30 CEST).