New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jason Plato secures Rockingham Pole

Jason Plato has broken the Rockingham BTCC Lap record en route to his fifth Pole Position of the 2012 campaign at the wheel of his MG KX Momentum Racing MG6.

Having set the pace during the two free practice sessions, Plato set a best time of 1m22.448s to secure a dominant Pole Position. His closest rival finished over sixth tenths of a second behind.

Joining Plato on the front row is Honda Yuasa Racing Team driver Gordon Shedden with current Independents’ points leader Andrew Jordan finishing third fastest in the Pirtek Racing Honda Civic.

- Advertisement -

Completing the top five is the Redstone Racing Ford Focus of Mat Jackson and Plato’s MG KX Momentum Racing team-mate Andy Neate. Current Championship leader Matt Neal finished sixth fastest despite a broken hand sustained before the event and with 45kgs of ballast on board the Honda Civic.

Completing the top ten for round 22 is Frank Wrathall, Rob Collard, Jeff Smith and Adam Morgan, while Knockhill race winner Dave Newsham finished 13th fastest in the Team ES Racing Vauxhall Vectra.

Howard Fuller had an impressive first BTCC qualifying session as he finished 14th fastest overall in the #22 Team HARD. Honda Civic and within a second of Shedden’s time.

The returning Rob Austin Racing Audi A4’s of Rob Austin and Will Bratt will line up 12th and 18th while the VW Golf of Ollie Jackson finished the session 17th fastest.

Round 22 of the season is due to get underway at 11.30am on Sunday, 23 September on ITV4, ITV4 HD and

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here