New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Viktor Andersson wins on TCR UK début in Brands Hatch season opener

Viktor Andersson won on his début in the TCR UK series at Brands Hatch on Saturday, as the Swede leapfrogged Callum Newsham at the start of the race and went on to secure a lights-to-flag victory.

Newsham had earlier taken his maiden pole position in the series, edging out Andersson by a mere 0.029 seconds.

But Andersson was the faster starter of the front row men, putting his Lynk & Co in the lead on the run down to the first corner, as Newsham came under attack from reigning champion Carl Boardley.

- Advertisement -

Newsham prevailed in second, but the leading trio lapped close for the opening eight laps, until Newsham attempted to pass Andersson for the lead at Druids.

The duo ran side-by-side for three corners, but going onto the following lap, Boardley seized the opportunity to get by Newsham, as Andersson held on to his slender lead.

Over the next nine laps, the top three became a top six, and Andersson was unable to get away from the chasing pack.

Newsham once again tried to pounce forward and reclaim second, but once again instead of going forwards the Hyundai driver found himself losing out, as he was passed by Adam Shepherd’s CUPRA at Clearways, leaving the Scot going backwards.

There were no further changes at the front in the final six lap, but Andersson held on to claim his and Lynk & Co’s first win in TCR UK by just 0.269 seconds, with the top four covered by less than a second.

The podium was completed by Boardley and Shepherd, as Newsham had to settle for fourth.

Joe Marshall-Birks was the leading Audi driver in fifth for Rob Boston Racing, ahead of Will Powell in a distant sixth in the best Honda.

Darron Lewis was seventh in his Hyundai, ahead of Luke Sargeant’s CUPRA in eighth. Sargeant had an eventful race which saw him twice take to the gravel in the opening laps, dropping him as low as 12th, having started the race from sixth.

The top ten was completed by newcomer Will Beech in his first-generation Volkswagen and Rick Kerry in his first-gen CUPRA.

Races two and three take place at 14:00 BST and 16:50 BST on Sunday.

Race results

1 20 Viktor ANDERSSON Pro Alloys Racing Lynk & Co 03 TCR 25 20:40.049 48.651 2
2 1 Carl BOARDLEY CBM with Hart GT CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 25 0.269 48.618 3
3 117 Adam SHEPHERD Area Motorsport with Shepherd Motors CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 25 0.646 48.517 8
4 16 Callum NEWSHAM JH Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 25 0.833 48.574 1
5 99 Joe MARSHALL Rob Boston Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 25 1.485 48.593 4
6 7 Will POWELL Go-Fix Honda by Sport77 Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 25 17.710 49.402 7
7 285 Darron LEWIS DLR with JH Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 25 24.863 49.426 9
8 115 Luke SARGEANT R.S. Vehicle Sales with Area Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 25 42.240 49.657 6
9 27 Will BEECH Capture Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 25 49.008 50.491 10
10 22 Rick KERRY EDF Motorsport CUPRA TCR 24 + 1 LAP 50.593 11
11 77 Mark SMITH Richmond Fire Motorsport CUPRA TCR 24 + 1 LAP 51.083 13
12 19 Jeffrey ALDEN Matrix Motorsport with DW Racing Opel Astra TCR 24 + 1 LAP 51.432 14
13 17 Bradley HUTCHISON MPH Racing CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 23 + 2 LAPS 48.728 5
R 28 Bradley THURSTON Sport77 Audi RS3 LMS TCR 15 DNF 50.765 12
NS 50 Darelle WILSON DW Racing Vauxhall Astra TCR DNS N/A 15
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -